Choosing a topic
When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:
- Unless your instructor assigns a topic, try to select a topic that interests you.
- Make sure your topic is not too broad, or too narrow. You will find too much information when searching for a broad topic; and not enough information when searching for a narrow topic.
- If you already have a general topic, try searching the library's catalog or the library's databases for ideas on how to narrow that topic down.
- Visit the library's Reference Desk and request to view the following book: 10,000 ideas for term papers, projects, reports and speeches: Intriguing, original research topics for every student's need.
- For current events and issues in the news, try searching the library's database: CQ Researcher.
- For debatable or controversial issues, ask one of the librarians about the Opposing Viewpoints Series, the Taking Sides Series, Issues in Focus Series and/or the Current Controversies Series.
- Visit the Social Issues Research Guide. There you will find a list of current social issues to choose from.
Reference Collection
The Reference Collection will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Company & Industry Research. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Company & Industry Research books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books within the reference collection cannot be checked out of the library.
To Find SIC or NAICS Industry Codes
| Standard Industrial Classification Manual. 1987. | Ref HF 1041 .U613 1987 |
| NAICS Desk Reference. 2000. | Ref HF 1041.5 .N35 2000 |
Directories of Companies
| American Manufacturers Directory. 2001. | Ref HD9723 .A12 2000 |
| Burrelle's Media Directory. 1995. 5 vols. | Ref HE 8698 .B8663 1995 |
| World Business Directory. 1998. 4 vols. | Ref HF 54 .U5 W667 |
| International Directory of Company Histories. 1998-. | Ref HD 2721.I63 |
Industry Information
| Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys. 2003. 3 vols. | Ref HC 106.6 .S74 Oct. 2003 |
| World Market Share Reporter. 2002. | Ref HD2757.15 .W67 2002 |
| Market Share Reporter. 2008. 2 vols. | Ref HF1040.9 .G2 2002 |
| Information, Finance, and Services USA. 2001. | Ref HD 9999 .I493 U625 2001 |
| Infrastructure Industries USA. 2001. | Ref HD 9506.U5 A64 2001 |
| Manufacturing and Distribution USA. 2006. 3 vols. | Ref HD 9743 .M365 2003 |
| Business Plans Handbook. 1995-. | Ref HD 62.7 .B865 |
Library Catalog
The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.
Quick Tips:
- Start with a Keyword search. Once you find one or two books about your topic, check the book's record to see what Subjects are being used. Once you find the appropriate Subject Heading, repeat your search using those headings. Generally, the results from a Subject search will always be more accurate than the results from a Keyword search.
- If you know the title of the book you are looking for, do a Title search.
- If you are looking for a book with a specific author, do an Author search (last name first).
Suggested Subject Headings for Company & Industry Research:
- Business Enterprises
- Industries
- Corporation Reports
- Industries -- Social aspects
- Industries -- United States
- Industries -- United States -- History
*Try searching the name of the company you are researching as a Subject or Keyword.
Suggested Subject Headings for specific industries:
- Energy industries
- High technology industries
- Mineral industries
- Service industries
- Tourism
- Financial services industry
- Hospitality Industry
- Clothing trade
- Automobile industry and trade
*Try searching the name of the industry you are researching as a Subject if it is not listed above.
Browse the Collection:
Most of the books can be found in the following areas:
- HD Industries
- HD23212346 Industry (Industrialization)
- HD2350.8-2356 Large industry. Factory System. Big Business
- HD2709-2930.7 Corporations
- HD8039 - By industry or trade
- HD9000-9999 Special industries and trades
- HF Commerce
All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.
For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Research Databases - Finding Articles
The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.
Search for periodical articles on Company & Industry Research using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)
- Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full text journals, Academic Search Premier offers critical information from many sources. This resource contains full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications. Academic Search Premier includes full-page images as well as color embedded images.
- ABI/Inform Global Search 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing,economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also, information on 60,000+ companies
- Hoover's Company Records Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe - Company Search provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including news from over 18,000 newspapers, magazines and news wires and company financial information.
- Stat-USA delivers vital economic, business, and international trade information produced by the U.S. Government. Links to federal and state export/ import resources.
After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Magazine vs. Journal guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.
Professional Organizations
To find a professional organization or association related to the industry/field you are researching, try searching these resources.
- Encyclopedia of Associations Ref HS17 .G334 2008
A 3-volume reference book organized by subjects; provides detailed information about the association including websites and phone numbers if available. - Associations on the Net
http://www.ipl.org/div/aon/
Source: Internet Public Library -- a guide to websites of prominent organizations and associations, organized by broad fields. - Gateway to Associations Directory
http://www.asacenter.org/Directories/AssociationSearch.cfm
Source: American Society of Association Executives - search for associations by name, keyword, organization type, and geographic location.
Internet Resources
For company research, always visit the companys website which may have valuable information. A Google search for the name of the company should lead you to their website. For industry research, look for local, state, and/or national organizations specific to that industry. A Google search for the industry may lead you to these industry-specific sites. Look for ".org" and ".gov" sites.
- Annual Reports Gallery
http://www.annualreports.com/
Source: IR Solutions A searchable listing of annual reports on the Internet; allows you to find multiple annual reports without having to go to individual company websites. - Bigcharts.com
http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/
Source: MarketWatch a comprehensive investment research Web site, providing access to professional-level research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners, as well as market news and commentary. - EDGARhttp://www.sec.gov/edgarhp.htm
Source: U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission Financial information for all U.S. foreign and domestic public companies. - GuideStar.org
http://www.guidestar.org/
Source: Philanthropic Research, Inc. Information about nonprofits. - Market Research, Industry Research, Business Research
http://www.virtualpet.com/industry/howto/search.htm
Source: Polson Enterprises Provides a step-by-step process for learning about an industry or company with useful links for each step of the process; start at any step to find valuable resources for company and industry research. - Industry Research Desk
http://www.virtualpet.com/industry/rdindex2.htm
Source: Polson Enterprises Business research tools and links for researching industries, markets, and companies. - Online Annual Report Service
http://www.annualreportservice.com
Source: Bay Tact Corporation Directory of over 4,500 annual reports and 10-K filings available online. - New Jersey Small Business Research Guide
http://library.raritanval.edu/resources/researchguides/njsmallbusiness.html
Source: Evelyn S. Field Library at RVCC A research guide about small businesses with a focus on New Jersey and how to start a small business. - Rutgers University Libraries Gateway: Company Research
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/busi/company.shtml
Source: Roberta Tipton and Ka-Neng Au, Rutgers Business Librarians A research guide for Company Research including links for public, private, and international companies. - ThomasNet
http://www.thomasregister.com/
Source: Thomas Publishing Company: Online version of Thomas Register, the classic tool for finding manufacturers of a desired product. May provide financial information, years in business and number of employees, depending on the company.
Additional Help
- Call or visit the Reference Desk to speak to one of the librarians. The Reference Desk is located on the main floor of the library. The phone number is 908-526-1200 x8350.
- Email your question to one of the librarians using the Ask-A-Librarian Service.
For further information about this guide, please contact Megan Dempsey
Last Updated - May, 2008