Reference
The Library has many reference books to help you explore career choices, to learn more about specific careers, and to locate employment opportunities. A few of our titles are listed below.
- American Salaries and Wages Survey 6th ed.
REF HD4973.A67 2002 - America's Fastest Growing Jobs 6th ed.
REF HD5724.F26 2000 - Best Jobs for the 21st Century. 2nd ed.
REF HF5381.15.F37 2001 - Career Choice, Change, & Challenge: 125 Strategies from the Experts at Careerjournal.com
REF HF5381.K598 2000 - The College Majors Handbook: The Actual Jobs, Earnings, and Trends for the Graduates of 60 College Majors
REF HF5382.5.U5 F644 2004 - Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance (4 vols)
REF HF5381 .E52 2003 - Exploring Health Care Careers (2 vols)
REF R690.E97 1998 - Guide for Occupational Exploration 3rd ed.
REF HF5382.5.U5 G83 2001 - Internships
REF L901.I66 2005 - Pathways to Career Success for Minorities: A Resource Guide to
Colleges, Financial Aid, and Work
REF LC3727.P27 2000 - Peterson's Liberal Arts Jobs 3rd ed.
REF HF5382.5.U5 N25 1998 - Summer Jobs in the USA
REF HF5382.5.U5 S76 2004/2005 - What Color is Your Parachute?
REF HF5383.B56 2005 - Work-at-Home Sourcebook
REF HD2336.U5 A73 1999

Library Catalog
For more information, consult the library catalog, which provides access to books located here at RVCC and other libraries in Somerset County.
-
Useful subject headings:
- Occupations
- Career Development
- Professions
- Job satisfaction
- Accounting -- vocational guidance
- Automobile industry and trade -- vocational guidance
- Nursing -- vocational guidance
Or, use "vocational guidance" as a subheading:
The library also has two series of books: Career Opportunities in ...; and Careers in Focus. These books contain information on careers in specific fields, such as business, music, health, etc.
Some of these books are in the reference collection, some are in the circulating collection. Check the library catalog by title for call numbers.
Article Databases
The Library has access to thousands of periodicals through our article databases. Search for articles containing current information about careers, occupations, or vocational guidance. All of the databases listed below, except Discover, can be found on the Databases page.
- Facts on File: Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
This database lets you explore different careers. It provides a description, lists the qualifications and education level needed, gives average salaries, describes working conditions, and tells you if there is a growing need for people in each profession. It is especially strong in listing related professions for those wanting a career change. - ABI-Inform
One of the best sources of business news and career information. It contains over 2,000 journals published worldwide in many languages. Most recent articles are available in full text. - Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary article database. Full text is available for over 3200 titles. - ProQuest Research Library
Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology. - OmniFile Full-Text Mega
A database of both general and specialized magazines and journals. Some are in full text. This is a good source for current periodical information about careers and vocations. - Discover
A subscription-based service available in the Library and in the Counseling Center. Use it to explore careers, determine which careers are growing (or slowing), or take an online test to check your suitability for certain professions.

Internet Resources
- America's Career InfoNet OneStop
http://www.acinet.org
In line with the Department of Labor's vision for America's Labor Market Information System, CareerOneStop is a collection of electronic tools, operating as a federal-state partnership, and funded by grants to states. - Careerjournal.com
http://www.careerjournal.com
From the editors of the Wall Street Journal. The site's job database offers more than 100,000 listings, with opportunities from local and national newspaper, magazine and TV station web sites across the U.S. Editorial features include help with resume writing, interviewing, networking and negotiating a new job offer, as well as in-depth guidance on improving your current career. - National Career Development Association
http://www.ncda.org
Under Internet Resources you'll find many sites for career planning. - New Jersey Job Vacancy Announcements
http://www.state.nj.us/personnel/vacancy/vacancy.htm
New Jersey Department of Personnel public employment gateway. - Occupational Outlook Handbook Online
http://www.bls.gov/oco/home.htm
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Revised every two years, the Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations. - Occupational Information Network (O*NET)
http://online.onetcenter.org
The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) was developed for the US Department of Labor. Find occupations with keywords or by browsing Job Families, or supply a list of your skills to find matching occupations. - State Occupational Projections
http://www.projectionscentral.com
National projections are developed by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor. State projections are developed in the labor market information sections of each State Employment Security Agency. The projection period is 2002-2012 for all States.
Last Updated - May, 2005

