Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Reference Collection

The Reference Collection will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Accounting. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Accounting books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books within the reference collection cannot be checked out of the library.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries:

Dictionary of Accounting(E-Book available online)
Business and IndustryREF HF1001 .B796 2003
Dictionary of Finance and Investment TermsREF HG151.D69 1998
Encyclopedia of Busine$$ and FinanceREF HF1001.E467 2001
Encyclopedia of CapitalismREF HB501.E558 2004
Encyclopedia of International CommerceREF HF1001.M55 1985
Encyclopedia of Small BusinessREF HD62.7 .H553 2002
Historical Dictionary of the International Monetary FundREF HG3881.I58 H86 1999
The History of Accounting: An International EncyclopediaREF HF5605.H573 1996
International Business Dictionary and ReferenceREF HF1359.P74 1991
The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of International Trade and FinanceREF HF1373.G57 1994
Oxford Dictionary for the Business WorldREF HF1001.O96 1993
Nonprofit Law DictionaryREF KF1388.A68H66 1994
The VNR Dictionary of Business and FinanceREF HF1001 .B7
Wall Street WordsREF HG4513.S37 1997

Handbooks, Directories, & Guides:

Accounting Reference DesktopREF HF5657.4 .B7195 2002
The Accountants HandbookREF HF5621.A22 1999 with Supplement, 2001
Accounting and Auditing Disclosure ManualREF HF5658.A23 2002
Corporate Controller's ManualREF HG4027.3.C67 1989 with 1992 update
Miller GAAP GuideREF HF5667.G32 2008
An Introduction to Applied Professional Research for AccountantsREF HF5630.I66 2001
Transacc: Transnational AccountingREF HF5625.T736 1995
Wiley CPA Examination ReviewREF HF5661.D38 2002
Wiley's Student GAAS GuideREF HF5616.U5 G895 2000

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Accounting:

Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Accounting using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Magazine vs. Journal guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help


For further information about this guide, please contact Megan Dempsey
Last Updated - March, 2008