Research Guide:
Literary Criticism - Poetry
Choosing a topic
When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:
- Unless your instructor assigns a topic, try to select a topic that interests you.
- Make sure your topic is not too broad, or too narrow. You will find too much information when searching for a broad topic; and not enough information when searching for a narrow topic.
- If you already have a general topic, try searching the library's catalog or the library's databases for ideas on how to narrow that topic down.
- Visit the library's Reference Desk and request to view the following book: 10,000 ideas for term papers, projects, reports and speeches: Intriguing, original research topics for every student's need.
- For current events and issues in the news, try searching the library's database: CQ Researcher.
- For debatable or controversial issues, ask one of the librarians about the Opposing Viewpoints Series, the Taking Sides Series, Issues in Focus Series and/or the Current Controversies Series.
- Visit the Social Issues Research Guide. There you will find a list of current social issues to choose from.
Finding Literary Criticism
The following strategies can be used to find Literary Criticism in the library’s Reference Collection and Circulating Collection:
The Reference Collection
- Select a Reference Book from the ones listed on this guide that you expect will have criticism of the work you are researching. For example, use Twentieth Century Literary Criticism to find articles about Lorraine Hansberry and A Raisin in the Sun.
- Use the Index to find the volumes and page numbers that contain criticism of the work you are researching. For large collections, look for a separate Cumulative Title Index on the shelf after the last volume in the collection. For smaller collections, the Index will be found in the back of the last volume.
- Search for the author or title that you are researching. Index entries will appear like this: 45: 126-132. The first number in bold indicates the Volume number. The numbers after the colon indicate the page numbers containing criticism of that author/title.
- Some of the print Reference books are indexed electronically. To search the electronic index for Gale Reference books, go to the Literature Resource Center database from the library homepage. Once you are in the database, click the green button for Gale Literary Index from the top right corner of the screen. Search for the Author or Title that you are researching. The result will list all Gale Reference Books containing criticism of your author/title. Consult the list below of Reference Books indexed in Gale Literary Index to determine if the book is available in this library. Find the print Reference book on the first floor of the library as described above.
The Circulating Collection
- There are a number of books in the circulating collection containing literary criticism of particular authors or works. To find these books, search the library catalog from the library homepage.
- To find criticism of an author, perform a SUBJECT search for the author’s last name, first name.
- To find criticism of a specific title, perform a KEYWORD search for the title. If there are no results, try searching for the author’s last name, first name instead.
Book Collections
Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Literary Criticism - Poetry. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Literary Criticism - Poetry books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.
To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.
1. Poetry Criticism
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| Contemporary Literary Criticism | Reference | PN771.C59 |
| Critical Survey of Poetry | Reference | PR502 .C85 |
| Masterplots II. Poetry series | Reference | PN1110.5 .M37 |
| Poetry Criticism | Reference | PN1010 .P499 |
| Twentieth Century Literary Criticism | Reference | PN771 .G27 |
2. Poets
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| Contemporary American Ethnic Poets | Reference | PS153 .M56 C66 2004 |
| Contemporary Poets | Reference | PR603 .C6 1985 |
| Modern Spanish American Poets | Reference | PS21 .D56 |
| Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism | Reference | PN761 .N5 |
| Poets of Great Britain and Ireland since 1960 | Reference | PS21 .D56 |
| Poets of Great Britain and Ireland, 1945-1960 | Reference | PS21 .D56 |
3. Other Poetry Reference Sources
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| Granger`s index to poetry | Reference | PN1022 .G7 |
| The Columbia Granger`s index to poetry in anthologies | Reference | PN1022 .H39 2007 |
| The Poet`s Dictionary: A Handbook of Prosody and Poetic Devices | Reference | PN44.5 .P3 1989 |
4. Reference Books indexed in Gale Literary Index - Poetry
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| Contemporary Literary Criticism | Reference | PN771.C59 |
| Contemporary Poets | Reference | PR603 .C6 1985 |
| Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism | Reference | PN761 .N5 |
| Poetry Criticism | Reference | PN1010 .P499 |
| Twentieth Century Literary Criticism | Reference | PN771 .G27 |
Library Catalog
The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.
Quick Tips:
- Start with a Keyword search. Once you find one or two books about your topic, check the book's record to see what Subjects are being used. Once you find the appropriate Subject Heading, repeat your search using those headings. Generally, the results from a Subject search will always be more accurate than the results from a Keyword search.
- If you know the title of the book you are looking for, do a Title search.
- If you are looking for a book with a specific author, do an Author search (last name first).
Suggested Subject Headings for Literary Criticism - Poetry:
Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.
- Author Last Name, First Name
- Blake, William -- Biography
- Blake, William -- Criticism and interpretation
- Poetry
- Poetry -- History and Criticism
- Poetry, Modern -- 20th Centory
- Poetry, Modern -- History and Criticism
- Poets
- Poets, American
- Poets, American -- 19th Century -- Biography
- Poets, American -- 20th Century -- Biography
- Poets, English
Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.
Browse the Collection:
Most of the books can be found in the following areas:
- PN1010-1525 -- Poetry
- PN6099-6110 -- Collections, Poetry
- PR1170-1228 -- Collections of English Literature, Poetry
- PR500-614 -- English Literature, Poetry
- PS301-326 -- American Literature, Poetry
- PS580-619 -- Collections of American Literature, Poetry
All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.
For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Research Databases - Finding Articles
The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.
Search for periodical articles on Literary Criticism - Poetry using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)
- Contemporary Authors
"Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors." Drawn from the vendor's website.
- JSTOR
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. JSTOR is important if you are doing a research project that needs older information in the arts and sciences. Due to its very nature as a retrospective journal archive, JSTOR does not contain current journal articles. The JSTOR database is unique because the complete back files of core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. Over 4 million pages are available.
- Literature Resource Center
"The Literature Resource Center on GaleNet is a complete literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center is the premier Internet resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more."
After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.
Internet Resources
- IPL Literature
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum60.00.00/
Source: Internet Public Library -- A collection of links to online literature resources. Subcategories include Authors, Literature by Time Period, and Criticism - Library of Congress Poetry Resources
http://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/lcpoetry/
Source: Library of Congress -- A comprehensive guide to locating poetry resources available on the Library of Congress`s Web site - Literary Resources on the Net
http://www.andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/
Source: Maintained by Jack Lynch, Rutgers -- a collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature - Locating Criticism of Individual Poems
http://www.loc.gov/rr/program/bib/poetrycrit/
Source: Library of Congress -- A Web guide providing resources available through the Library of Congress to locate scholarly criticism of individual poems - Modern American Poetry
http://www.english.uiuc.edu/maps/
Source: Department of English, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign -- An online journal and companion to Anthology of Modern American Poetry. Includes poet biographies, historical background and analyses of poems. - Poetics, Poetry Tools & Poetry Criticism
http://poetry.about.com/od/poeticspoetryanalysis/Poetics_Poetry_Tools_Poetry_Criticism.htm
Source: About.com -- a search tool for articles on poetics, poetry schools & techniques, poetic analysis & criticism, plus links to online tools for poets, lit crit journals & essays on poetry - Prose and Verse Criticism of Poetry
http://rpo.library.utoronto.ca/display_rpo/indexcriticism.cfm
Source: Department of English, University of Toronto -- Contains criticism of well-known poems. Criticism can be searched by poet, title, first line, date and keyword - Voice of the Shuttle
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=3
Source: Alan Liu, University of California, Santa Barbara -- A large database of Internet sites related to the humanities. Literature links include English, American, Modern and Contemporary, Renaissance, Restoration, and Romantics - Yahoo! Directory: Poetry
http://d1.dir.ac2.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/Literature/Poetry/
Source: Yahoo! -- Browse websites grouped by category or search within the Poetry Directory for sites specifically related to poets and poetry
Additional Help
- Call or visit the Reference Desk to speak to one of the librarians. The Reference Desk is located on the main floor of the library. The phone number is 908-526-1200 x8350.
- Email your question to one of the librarians using the Ask-A-Librarian Service.
- For further information about this guide, please contact Megan Dempsey
Last Updated - 05 August 2008

