Research Guide:
Literary Criticism - General

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Finding Literary Criticism

The following strategies can be used to find Literary Criticism in the library’s Reference Collection and Circulating Collection:

The Reference Collection

The Circulating Collection

If you are researching a specific genre of literature, consider using a Literary Criticism genre guide:


Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Literary Criticism - General. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Literary Criticism - General books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

1. General Criticism

Title Location CallNumber
Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism Reference PN681.5 .C57
Contemporary Literary Criticism Reference PN771.C59
Critical Survey of Long Fiction Reference PR821 .C7 2000
Critical Survey of Long Fiction: English Language Series Reference PR821 .C7 1983
Masterplots: 2010 Plot Stories and Essay Reviews Reference PN44 .M33
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism Reference PN761 .N5
Social Impact of the Novel Reference PN3344 .J64 2002
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism Reference PN771 .G27
World Literature and Its Times: African Literature and Its Times Reference PN50 .M625
World Literature and Its Times: British and Irish Literature and... Reference PN50 .M625
World Literature and Its Times: Latin American Literature and It... Reference PN50 .M625
World Literature Since 1945: Critical Surveys of the Contemporar... Reference PN771 .I9

2. American Literature

Title Location CallNumber
African American Literature, Oxford Companion to Reference PS153. N5 O96 1997
African American Writers Reference PS153 .N5 A344 2001
American Writers Reference PS129 .A55
Critical Perspectives on Native American Fiction Reference PS153 .I52 C75 1993
Hispanic Literature of the United States Reference PS153 .H56 K36 2003
Modern Latin American Literature Reference PQ7081 .F63 1975

3. World and Multicutural Literature

Title Location CallNumber
European Writers Reference PN501 .E9
Hispanic Literature Criticism Reference PQ7081 .A1H573 1994
World Literature and Its Times: African Literature and Its Times Reference PN50 .M625
World Literature and Its Times: British and Irish Literature and... Reference PN50 .M625
World Literature and Its Times: Latin American Literature and It... Reference PN50 .M625

4. Women & GLBT Literature

Title Location CallNumber
Feminist Writers Reference Z5304 .A8 F46 1996
Gay & Lesbian Literature Reference PN56 .H57 G36 1994
Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage Reference PN56 .H57 G365 1995
Modern American Women Writers Reference PS151 .M54

5. Reference Books indexed in Gale Literary Index

Title Location CallNumber
African American Writers Reference PS153 .N5 A344 2001
American Writers Reference PS129 .A55
Asian American Literature Reference PS153 .A84 A82 1999
British Writers Reference PR85 .B688
Contemporary Literary Criticism Reference PN771.C59
European Writers Reference PN501 .E9
Gay & Lesbian Literature Reference PN56 .H57 G36 1994
Hispanic Literature Criticism Reference PQ7081 .A1H573 1994
Latin American Writers Reference PQ7081 .A1L37 1989
Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 Reference PN86 .L53
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism Reference PN761 .N5
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism Reference PN771 .G27
World Literature and Its Times: African Literature and Its Times Reference PN50 .M625
World Literature and Its Times: British and Irish Literature and... Reference PN50 .M625
World Literature and Its Times: Latin American Literature and It... Reference PN50 .M625

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Literary Criticism - General:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.


Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Literary Criticism - General using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 05 August 2008