Research Guide:
Religion
Choosing a topic
When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:
- Unless your instructor assigns a topic, try to select a topic that interests you.
- Make sure your topic is not too broad, or too narrow. You will find too much information when searching for a broad topic; and not enough information when searching for a narrow topic.
- If you already have a general topic, try searching the library's catalog or the library's databases for ideas on how to narrow that topic down.
- Visit the library's Reference Desk and request to view the following book: 10,000 ideas for term papers, projects, reports and speeches: Intriguing, original research topics for every student's need.
- For current events and issues in the news, try searching the library's database: CQ Researcher.
- For debatable or controversial issues, ask one of the librarians about the Opposing Viewpoints Series, the Taking Sides Series, Issues in Focus Series and/or the Current Controversies Series.
- Visit the Social Issues Research Guide. There you will find a list of current social issues to choose from.
Book Collections
Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Religion. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Religion books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.
To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| A Concise Encyclopedia of the Baha'i Faith | Reference | BP327 .C66 2000 |
| A Popular Dictionary of Sikhism | Reference | BL2018 .C54 1990 |
| Dictionary of the History of Ideas | Reference | CB5 .D52 |
| Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects, and New Religions | Reference | BL2525.L49 1998 |
| Encyclopedic Dictionary of Religion | Reference | BL31.E45 |
| Harper's Dictionary of Hinduism | Reference | BL1105.S98 |
| Man, Myth and Magic: the Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, ... | Circulating | BF 1407.M34 |
| New Bible Dictionary, Third Edition | Reference | BS440.N42 1996 |
| The A to Z of Catholicism | Reference | BX945.2.C65 2001 |
| The Encyclopedia of American Religious History | Reference | BL2525 .Q44 2001 |
| The Encyclopedia of Religion | Reference | BL31.E46 |
| The Encyclopedia of Unbelief | Reference | BL2705.n49 2007 |
| The New Encyclopedia of Islam | Reference | BP40.G42 2001 |
| The Oxford dictionary of the Jewish religion | Reference | BM50.O94 1997 |
Handbooks, Almanacs, Atlases
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| Religion and Politics: a Reference Handbook | Circulating | BL65.P7S76 2002 |
| Religions of the World | Reference | BL80.3.R45 2002 |
| The Hindu World | Reference | BL1105.W34 |
| The Interpreter's Bible | Reference | BS 491.2 I55 |
| The Macmillan Bible Atlas | Reference | G2230.A2 |
| The Oxford Companion to the Bible | Reference | BS440.M434 |
| The Oxford Illustrated History of Christianity | Circulating | BR145.2 O86 1990 |
Library Catalog
The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.
Quick Tips:
- Start with a Keyword search. Once you find one or two books about your topic, check the book's record to see what Subjects are being used. Once you find the appropriate Subject Heading, repeat your search using those headings. Generally, the results from a Subject search will always be more accurate than the results from a Keyword search.
- If you know the title of the book you are looking for, do a Title search.
- If you are looking for a book with a specific author, do an Author search (last name first).
Suggested Subject Headings for Religion:
Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.
- Art and religion
- Buddhism
- Christianity
- Christianity and other religions
- Christianity in literature
- Hinduism
- Islam
- Islam -- 20th century
- Islam -- Africa
- Islam -- customs and practices
- Islam -- doctrines
- Islam and literature
- Islam and politics
- Islam and politics -- Afghanistan
- Islam and secularism
- Islam and social problems
- Islam and state
- Religion
- Religion -- Philosophy
- Religion and culture
- Religion and ethics
- Religion and law
- Religion and literature
- Religion and politics
- Religion and science
- United States -- Religion
Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.
Browse the Collection:
Most of the books can be found in the following areas:
- BL -- Religion. Mythology. Rationism
- BM -- Judaism
- BP -- Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc.
- BQ -- Buddhism
- BR -- Christianity
- BS -- The Bible
- BT -- Doctrinal theology
- BV -- Practical theology
- BX -- Christian denominations
All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.
For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Research Databases - Finding Articles
The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.
Search for periodical articles on Religion using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)
- JSTOR
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. JSTOR is important if you are doing a research project that needs older information in the arts and sciences. Due to its very nature as a retrospective journal archive, JSTOR does not contain current journal articles. The JSTOR database is unique because the complete back files of core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. Over 4 million pages are available.
After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.
Professional Organizations
- Association for the Sociology of Religion
http://www.sociologyofreligion.com/ - Educational Religious Resources
http://www.academicinfo.net/Religionsoc.html - European Association for the Study of Religions
http://www.easr.de/ - Institute for Eucumenicaland Cultural Research
http://www.collegevilleinstitute.org/ - Religious Research Association
http://rra.hartsem.edu/
Internet Resources
- Comparative Religions Studies
http://www.the-orb.net/wemsk/comprelwemsk.html - Glossary for Introduction to Judaism
http://www.uwo.ca/kings/ccjl/docs/teaching/GLOSSARY%20FOR%20INTRODUCTION%20TO%20JUDAISM.pdf - Internet Public Library, Religion & Theology Resources
http://www.ipl.org/div/aon/browse/hum80.00.00/ - Islamic Texts and Resources
http://www.unc.edu/depts/islamweb/texts.html - Jainism: Principles, Traditions and Practices
www.cs.colostate.edu/~malaiya/jainhlinks.html - Jewish Culture and History
http://ddickerson.igc.org/judaica.html - Resource Pages for Biblical Studies
http://www.torreys.org/bible/ - Scrolls from the Dead Sea- Library of Congress exhibit
http://sunsite.unc.edu/expo/deadsea.scrolls.exhibit/intro.html - Shamash: the Jewish Network
http://www.shamash.org - Taoism Information Page
http://www.vl-site.org/taoism/index.html - The Catholic Encyclopedia
http://www.knight.org/advent/cathen/cathen.htm - Virtual Christianity
http://www.virtualchristianity.org/bibles.html - Virtual Religion Index, Rutgers University
http://virtualreligion.net/vri/
Additional Help
- Call or visit the Reference Desk to speak to one of the librarians. The Reference Desk is located on the main floor of the library. The phone number is 908-526-1200 x8350.
- Email your question to one of the librarians using the Ask-A-Librarian Service.
- For further information about this guide, please contact Megan Dempsey
Last Updated - 01 July 2009

