Research Guide:
New Jersey Small Business

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of New Jersey Small Business. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the New Jersey Small Business books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Guides

Title Location CallNumber
Business Plans Handbook – a compilation of actual business plans... Reference HD62.7.B865
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources Reference HF5353.E9
Encyclopedia of Small Business 2nd edition Reference HD62.7 .H553 2002
Franchise and Business Opportunities Reference HF5429.235.U5c34 2002

Small Business Management

Title Location CallNumber
American Salaries and Wages Survey Reference HD4973.A67
Employment, Hours, and Earnings, States and Areas / U.S. Departm... Reference HD8051.A62
Encyclopedia of Management Reference HD30.15.E49 2000
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: employment, earnings, prices,... Reference HD8051.A63

Small Business Marketing – Statistics and Demographics

Title Location CallNumber
A Statistical Portrait of the United States: social conditions a... Reference HA214.S73 2002
American Incomes: demographics of who has money Reference HC110.I5 R87 2005
Business Statistics of the United States Reference HC101.A13122
Demographics of the U.S.: trends and projections Reference HB849.49.R875 2000
Household Spending: who spends how much on what Reference HC110.C6 A666 2003
Market Share Reporter Reference HF1040.9.G2
MSA Profile Reference HC106.8 .M47
Rand McNally and Company: Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide Atlas G1019.R22
Regional Markets: the demographics of growth and decline Reference HA214 .E94 1999
The American Marketplace: demographics and spending patterns Reference HA214.A6
The Sourcebook of County Demographics Reference HA203.S672 1997

Small Business Planning – New Jersey Specific

Title Location CallNumber
Harris New Jersey Manufacturers Directory Reference HF5065.N5 H37
How to Start a Business in the State of New Jersey Circulating HD62.5.N68 2005
New Jersey Snapshots Reference HA521.N587
NJ Municipal Data Book Reference HT123.5.N5 N53
Starting and Managing your own Business in New Jersey Reference HD62.7.S72
The New Jersey Business Source Book Reference HF5065.N5 N43
The Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics Reference HA203 .S66 1997

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for New Jersey Small Business:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.

Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on New Jersey Small Business using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 05 May 2009