Research Guide:
World Civilization

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of World Civilization. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the World Civilization books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Atlases

Arranged by geographic area

Title Location CallNumber
Australia: the Complete Encyclopedia Reference DU90 .A97 2001
Cambridge Encyclopedia of India Reference DS405 .E556 2006
Cambridge History of Egypt Reference DT94 .C36 1998
Cambridge History of Japan Reference DS835 .C36 1988
Cambridge Illustrated History of China Reference DS706.E37
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean Reference DE59 .C55 1988
Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture Reference DS33 .C63 2000
Concise Encyclopedia of Mexico Reference F1204 .C66 2001
Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome Reference DE59 .E3 2006
Encyclopdia Latina: History, Culture and Society in the United S... Reference E184 .S75 E587 2005
Encyclopedia of Afircan History and Culture Reference DT3 .P27 2001
Encyclopedia of Afircan Nationas and Cibilizations Reference DT14 .E43 2002
Encyclopedia of Asian History Reference DS31 .E53 1987
Encyclopedia of China Reference DS705 .P47 1999
Encyclopedia of Modern Middle East Reference DS43 .E53 1996
Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa Reference DT2 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Russian History Reference DK36 .P39 1993
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World Reference DF16 .S23 2005
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire Reference DG270 .B86 2002
Historical Dictionary of Iraq Reference DS70.9 .G47 2004
Japan Encyclopedia Reference DS821 .F73 2002
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt Reference DT58 .O94 2001
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World Reference DS35.53 .O95 1995
Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings Reference DL65.O94 1997

Arranged by time period

Title Location CallNumber
Blackwell Companion to the Enlightenment Reference CB411.B57
Cambridge Ancient History Reference D57 .C252
Cambridge Ancient History Reference D57 .C252
Cambridge Medieval History Reference D117 .C32
Cold War Reference D839.5 .C65 1992
Crusades, The: An Encyclopedia Reference D155 .C78 2006
Dictionary of the Middle Ages Reference D114 .D5 1982
Dictionary of Twentieth Century World History Reference D419 .P32 1997
Early Modern Europe Reference D209 .C66 2001
Encyclopdia of the Holocaust Reference D804.3 .E53 1990
Encyclopedia of Renaissance Reference CB361 .E52 1999
Encyclopedia of the Interwar Years Reference D727 .G745 2000
Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia Reference D1051 .E873 2001
Great Events from History: The 19th Century Reference D358 .G74 2006
Great Lives from History: The 19th Century Reference CT119 .G69 2007
Hammond Past Worlds Atlas G1046 .E15 P3 1988
History of World War I Reference D521 .H48 2001
New Cambridge Modern History Reference D208 .N4
Oxford Companion to World War II Reference D740 .O94 1995
Times Atlas of World History Atlas G1030 .T54 1993

Specialized Sources: Religion, Art, Music, Literature & Social Life

Title Location CallNumber
Dictionary of Art Reference N31 .D5
Handbook of Egyptian Mythology Reference BL2441.3 .P56 2002
Handbook of Norse Mythology Reference BL860 .L56 2001
Handbook to Life in Medieval & Early Modern Japan Reference DS822.2.D33 2006
Mythology of All Races Reference BL25 .M8 1964
New Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology Reference BL311 .N43 1968
New Oxford Companion to Music Reference ML100 .N5 1983
Religions of the World Reference BL 80.3 .R45 2002
Timelines of the Arts and Literature Reference NX447.5 .B76

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for World Civilization:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.


Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on World Civilization using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 28 February 2011