Research Guide:
Environmental Science
Choosing a topic
When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:
- Unless your instructor assigns a topic, try to select a topic that interests you.
- Make sure your topic is not too broad, or too narrow. You will find too much information when searching for a broad topic; and not enough information when searching for a narrow topic.
- If you already have a general topic, try searching the library's catalog or the library's databases for ideas on how to narrow that topic down.
- Visit the library's Reference Desk and request to view the following book: 10,000 ideas for term papers, projects, reports and speeches: Intriguing, original research topics for every student's need.
- For current events and issues in the news, try searching the library's database: CQ Researcher.
- For debatable or controversial issues, ask one of the librarians about the Opposing Viewpoints Series, the Taking Sides Series, Issues in Focus Series and/or the Current Controversies Series.
- Visit the Social Issues Research Guide. There you will find a list of current social issues to choose from.
Book Collections
Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Environmental Science. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Environmental Science books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.
To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.
Dictionaries
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| A Dictionary of Economics | Reference | HB61.B554 1997 |
| Dictionary of Environmental Economics | Reference | HC79.E5 D53 2001 |
| The Environment: A to Z | Reference | GE10.H67 2001 |
Encyclopediaas
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Economics | Reference | HB61.E55 1994 |
| McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineerin... | Reference | GE10.M38 1993 |
| The Encyclopedia of Environmental Science | Reference | GE10.M66 2000 |
| The Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies | Reference | TD9.A84 2001 |
Special Topics
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| Dictionary of Environmental Law | Reference | K3584.6.G55 2000 |
| Environment and the Law: A Dictionary | Reference | KF3775.A68P38 |
| Environmental Hazards: Toxic Waste and Hazardous Material | Reference | TD1030.M56 1991 |
| Handbook of Solid Waste | Reference | TD791.K74 1994 |
| Oceans | Reference | GC11.2.D39 1999 |
| Recycling in America | Reference | TD794.5.S77 1997 |
| World Energy Outlook | Reference | HD9502.A2W6684 2004 |
Statistical Information
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| Agricultural Statistics | Reference | HD1751.A43 |
| American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Prese... | Reference | GE55.B43 2000 |
| State of the World | Reference | HC59.S74 |
Library Catalog
The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.
Quick Tips:
- Start with a Keyword search. Once you find one or two books about your topic, check the book's record to see what Subjects are being used. Once you find the appropriate Subject Heading, repeat your search using those headings. Generally, the results from a Subject search will always be more accurate than the results from a Keyword search.
- If you know the title of the book you are looking for, do a Title search.
- If you are looking for a book with a specific author, do an Author search (last name first).
Suggested Subject Headings for Environmental Science:
Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.
- Energy policy
- Environmental policy
- Environmental policy - Economic aspects
- Environmental policy - United States
- Global warming
- Recycling
Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.
Browse the Collection:
Most of the books can be found in the following areas:
- GE -- Environmental Sciences
- HC -- Economic history and conditions
- QC -- Physics
- TD -- Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
- TJ -- Mechanical engineering and machinery
- TL -- Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.
For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Research Databases - Finding Articles
The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.
Search for periodical articles on Environmental Science using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)
- GreenFile
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
- LexisNexis Academic
LEXIS-NEXIS® Academic Universe provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including news from over 18,000 newspapers, magazines and news wires and company financial information.
- ScienceDirect
Our current subscription includes the "Social & Behavioral Sciences" and the "Health & Life Sciences." Be sure to select "group-wide login.
- WorldCat
A catalog of over 61 million bibliographic records for materials held in libraries worldwide.
After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.
Professional Organizations
- Association of Environmental and Resource Economists
http://www.aere.org/ - Canadian Resource and Environmental Economics Study Group
http://socserv2.socsci.mcmaster.ca/~cree/ - European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists
http://www.eaere.org/ - Institute for a Sustainable Future
http://www.isfusa.org/ - International Society for Ecological Economics
http://www.ecoeco.org/
Internet Resources
- Endangered Species Home Page
http://www.fws.gov/endangered/
Source: US Fish & Wildlife Service - Energy Consumption
http://www.eia.doe.gov/emeu/consumption/index.html
Source: Energy Information Administration, US Department of Energy - Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Network (EREN)
http://www.eere.energy.gov/ - Environment and Development Economics
http://journals.cambridge.org/action/displayJournal?jid=ede - Environmental and Resource Economics
http://www.wkap.nl/kapis/CGI-BIN/WORLD/journalhome.htm?0924-6460 - Environmental Protection Agency
http://www.epa.gov/
Source: Yahoo - Environmental Science Network
http://esn.osti.gov/esn - ERN Environmental Economics Abstracts
http://www.ssrn.com/update/ern/ern_enviro.html - Global Warming (EPA)
http://www.epa.gov/globalwarming/ - H. John Heinz III Center for Science, Economics and the Environment
http://www.heinzctr.org/ - National Energy Information Center
http://www.eia.doe.gov/ - Population Topics
http://www.census.gov/population/www/
Source: US Census Bureau -- US and international population statistics - Resources for Economists on the Internet
http://rfe.org/showCat.php?cat_id=34 - Sustainable Development/Economics
http://www.colby.edu/personal/thtieten/sustain.html - U.S. Department of Commerce
http://www.doc.gov/ - U.S. Department of Energy
http://www.doe.gov/
Additional Help
- Call or visit the Reference Desk to speak to one of the librarians. The Reference Desk is located on the main floor of the library. The phone number is 908-526-1200 x8350.
- Email your question to one of the librarians using the Ask-A-Librarian Service.
- For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - 31 March 2009

