Research Guide:
Nutrition

Choosing a topic
When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:
- Unless your instructor assigns a topic, try to select a topic that interests you.
- Make sure your topic is not too broad, or too narrow. You will find too much information when searching for a broad topic; and not enough information when searching for a narrow topic.
- If you already have a general topic, try searching the library's catalog or the library's databases for ideas on how to narrow that topic down.
- Visit the library's Reference Desk and request to view the following book: 10,000 ideas for term papers, projects, reports and speeches: Intriguing, original research topics for every student's need.
- For current events and issues in the news, try searching the library's database: CQ Researcher.
- For debatable or controversial issues, ask one of the librarians about the Opposing Viewpoints Series, the Taking Sides Series, Issues in Focus Series and/or the Current Controversies Series.
- Visit the Social Issues Research Guide. There you will find a list of current social issues to choose from.
Book Collections
Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Nutrition. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Nutrition books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.
To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| A Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives | Reference | TX553.A3W55 |
| Encyclopedia of Dietary Supplements. | Reference | RM258.5 .E53 2005 |
| Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition (3 volumes) | Reference | QP141.E526 1999 |
| Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health | Reference | RA784.R646 2003 |
| Encyclopedia of Sports & Fitness Nutrition | Reference | RA784.A659 2002 |
| Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference Dictionary (5th ed.) | Reference | RM217.L34 2004 |
| The Cambridge World History of Food (2 volumes) | Reference | TX353.C255 2000 |
Handbooks, Guides, Manuals, Desk References, and Almanacs
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| American Dietetic Association's Complete Food & Nutrition Guide | Reference | RA784.D89 2006 |
| Magill's Medical Guide: Health and Illness (3 volumes) | Reference | RC41.M34 2008 |
| Merck Manual of Medical Information. 2nd Home ed. | Reference | RC81.M535 2003 |
| Pediatric Nutrition Handbook | Reference | RJ206.A49 2004 |
| The Dietitian's Guide to Vegetarian Diets: Issues and Applicatio... | Reference | RM236.M444 2004 |
Nutrition
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| Dietary Reference Intakes: Applications in Dietary Planning | Reference | QP141.D527 2003 |
| Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease | Reference | QP141.M64 2006 |
| Nutrition & Well-Being A to Z | Reference | RA784.N838 2004 |
| The Food Chronology | Reference | TX355.T72 1995 |
Nutrition and Herbal Supplements
| Title | Location | CallNumber |
|---|---|---|
| Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements | Reference | RM666.H33S58 2001 |
Library Catalog
The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.
Quick Tips:
- Start with a Keyword search. Once you find one or two books about your topic, check the book's record to see what Subjects are being used. Once you find the appropriate Subject Heading, repeat your search using those headings. Generally, the results from a Subject search will always be more accurate than the results from a Keyword search.
- If you know the title of the book you are looking for, do a Title search.
- If you are looking for a book with a specific author, do an Author search (last name first).
Suggested Subject Headings for Nutrition:
Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.
- Caffeine
- Cancer--Nutritional aspects
- Diet
- Dietary supplements
- Fiber in human nutrition
- Food
- Food - composition - Tables
- Malnutrition
- Nutrition
- Vegetarianism
Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.
Browse the Collection:
Most of the books can be found in the following areas:
- QP -- Physiology
- RA601-602 -- Food and food supply in relation to public health
- RM214-258 -- Diet therapy. Dietary cookbooks
- TX -- Home economics. Hospitality industry
All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.
For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Research Databases - Finding Articles
The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.
Search for periodical articles on Nutrition using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)
- ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library holds the publications of The Association of Computing Machinery, including journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, newsletters, Special Interest Groups (SIGs) and ACM oral history interviews.
- Health and Wellness Resources Center
Health & Wellness Resource Center (version 1.1) is a comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information through an intuitive web interface. Including the respected Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Additionally, consumers, students, and professionals are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness. Drawn from the vendor's website. Note: As with all health information sources, this database is for informational purposes only.
- Health Reference Center
Articles from a variety of health periodicals, plus excerpts from health-related reference books. Material includes a medical dictionary; medical directories and reference books; consumer-oriented and professional health periodicals; and pamphlets issued by leading health organizations. The periodical material is augmented by specially selected health articles from general-interest, business and specialty publications.
- National Newspapers Expanded
Proquest Newspapers includes the full text of The Atlantic Journal - Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post.
- PubMed
PubMed provides access to Medline, The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database. It is also a gateway, providing access to other sources of medical information from the federal government. Note: As with all health information sources, this database is for informational purposes only
- ScienceDirect
Our current subscription includes the "Social & Behavioral Sciences" and the "Health & Life Sciences." Be sure to select "group-wide login.
After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.
Professional Organizations
- American Dietetic Association
http://www.eatright.org/ - National Council Against Health Fraud, Inc.
http://www.ncahf.org/
Internet Resources
- EMedicine
http://emedicine.medscape.com/
Source: Medscape -- Has continually updated information with over 6,500 articles. - Food Nutritional Information Center.
http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic
Source: United States Department of Agriculture -- Portal to nutrition and food safety sites. - Health Finder
information http://www.healthfinder.gov/
Source: US Dept. of Health and Human Services -- "Quick Guide" topics on how to stay healthy include eating healthy, getting active, getting screened, quit smoking, and watching your weight. - Health, United States, 2002.
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm#spreadsheet
Source: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention -- Statistics form the National Center for Health Statistics - Healthy New Jersey
http://www.healthynj.org
Source: UMDNJ -- Provides links to many U.S. and N.J. health-related sites, including nutrition. Some info in Spanish. - New Jersey Health Statistics from 1877 to 2000
http://www.umdnj.edu/librweb/speccoll/njhs/index.html
Source: University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey -- An Historical Electronic Compendium of Published Reports - Nutrition.Gov
http://www.nutrition.gov
Source: National Agricultural Library, USDA -- federal government information on nutrition - Steps to a Healthier You
http://www.mypyramid.gov
Source: USDA -- The new food pyramid - USDA Nutrient Database
http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/Data/SR14/sr14.html
Source: USDA -- a database of nutritional facts and information. - WebMD
http://www.webmd.com
Source: WebMD, LLC -- This is a peer-reviewed site of medical information for consumers - including nutrition info which is reviewed by the American Dietetic Association.
Additional Help
- Call or visit the Reference Desk to speak to one of the librarians. The Reference Desk is located on the main floor of the library. The phone number is 908-526-1200 x8350.
- Email your question to one of the librarians using the Ask-A-Librarian Service.
- For further information about this guide, please contact Robert Egan
Last Updated - 30 March 2009

