Research Guide:
Women & Gender

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Women & Gender. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Women & Gender books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

Feminist Philosophy

Title Location CallNumber
A History of Women in the West. 3 vols. Reference HQ1121.S79513 1992
Battleground : Women, Gender, and Sexuality. 2 vols. Reference HQ1115.B38 2008
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America Reference HQ1410.C85 2000
Historical Dictionary of Feminism Reference HQ1115.B65
International Encyclopedia of Women's suffrage Reference JF851.H28 2000
Past and promise : lives of New Jersey women Reference HQ1438.N5 P37 1997
The Columbia Guide to American Women in the Nineteenth Century Reference HQ1418.C58 2000
The Wilson Chronology of Women's Achievements : a Record of Wome... Reference HQ1121 .F65 1998
The Women's Movement Today : An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Femin... Reference HQ1115.W644 2006
The Women’s Chronology : a Year-by-Year Record from Prehistory t... Reference HQ1122.T73
Women's Rights in the United States : A Documentary History Reference HQ1236.5.U6 W68
Women's Studies Encyclopedia. 3 vols. Reference HQ1115.W645 1999
Women in Early America : Struggle, Survival, and Freedom in a Ne... Reference HQ1416.M395 2004
Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues Reference HQ1870.9 .W6548 1998

Marriage and Family

Title Location CallNumber
Encyclopedia of Family Life. 3 vols. Reference HQ534.E53 1999
Encyclopedia of Marriage & the Family. 2 vols. Reference HQ9.E52
Marriage, Family, and Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encycloped... Reference GN480.B76 1994
Parenthood in America : An Encyclopedia. 2 vols. Reference HQ755.8.P3783 2001
Wimmin, Wimps & Wallflowers : an Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Gen... Reference HQ76.45.U5 H47 2001

Women and the Criminal Justice System

Title Location CallNumber
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment. 4 vols. Reference HV6017.E524 2002
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence Reference HV6626.E534 2007
Encyclopedia of Prisons & Correctional Facilities. 2 vols. Reference HV9471.E427 2005
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime Reference HV6046 .E56 2000
The Psychology of Sexual Victimization : A Handbook Reference HV6556 .P78 1999
The Sourcebook on Violence Against Women Reference HV6250.4.W65 S68 2001

Women in Literature

Title Location CallNumber
An Encyclopedia of Continental Women Writers. 2 vols. Reference PN481.E5 1991
Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature Reference PN471 .B57 1992
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers. 2 vols. Reference PS153.N5 E49 2007
Encyclopedia of British Women's Writing, 1900-1950 Reference PR111.E55 2006
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature Reference PN471.S58 2006
Feminist Writers Reference Z5304 .A8 F46 1996
Modern American Women Writers Reference PS151 .M54 1990
The Feminist Companion to Literature in English : Women Writers ... Reference PR111.F45 1990
The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond : Literary Biographies of 100 ... Reference PS153.N5R65 1990
Writing African American Women : an Encyclopedia of Literature B... Reference PS153.N5 W756 2006

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Women & Gender:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.


Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Women & Gender using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 30 March 2009