Research Guide:
Psychology

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Psychology. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Psychology books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

Biography

Title Location CallNumber
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. Routledge Reference BF109.A1 B56 1997
Great Psychologists and their Times. American Psychological Asso... Reference BF109.A1 S56 2002
Women in Psychology : a Bio-Bibliographic sourcebook Reference BF109.A1W65

Dictionaries

Title Location CallNumber
A Dictionary of Psychology. Oxford University Press Reference BF31.C65 2006
APA Dictionary of Psychology Circulating BF31.A65 2007
Campbell's Psychiatric Dictionary Reference RC437.H5 2004
Dictionary of Cognitive Science. Psychology Press Reference BF311.V56713 2004
Psychoanalytic Terms & Concepts. American Psychoanalytic Associa... Reference RC501.4 P79 1990

Encyclopedias

Title Location CallNumber
Aggression and Conflict: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO Reference HM136 .L46
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology. Blackwell Reference HM251 .B476
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology Reference BF31.E52 2010
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology. Elsevier. 3 vols Reference BF636.E52 2004
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions. 2 vols. Macmillan Reference BF531 .E55 1999
Encyclopedia of Mental Health. Facts on File Reference RC437.K34 2008
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology Reference GN502.E63 2006
Encyclopedia of School Psychology Reference LB1027.55.E523 2005
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming. MacMillan Reference BF1078 .E63 1993
Human Sexuality: An Encyclopedia. Garland Reference HQ9 .H846 1994
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Sc... Reference BF31.E52 2004
The encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders. Facts on File Reference RC552.E18 C37 2000
The encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties. Facts of File Reference RC535.D63 2000
The Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders.... Reference RC514 .N63 2000
The Encyclopedia of Sleep and Sleep Disorders. Facts of File Reference RC547.Y34 2001

General Reference

Title Location CallNumber
Child Maltreatment: Photographic Reference, 2nd ed. 2 vols. GW M... Reference RA1122.5 .C49 1998
Cross-cultural Psychology: research and applications. Cambridge Reference GN502 .C76 1992
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-IV-T... Reference RC455.2.C4 D536 2000
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV, 4... Reference RC455.2 .C4 D54 1994
Human Growth and Development. Cambridge Reference QP84 .C26 1998
Mental Disorders of the New Millennium. 3 vols. Praeger Reference RC454 .M462 2006
The American Psychiatric Press Textbook of Psychiatry, 3rd. ed Reference RC454 .A419 1999

Handbooks

Title Location CallNumber
Child Psychology : A Handbook of Contemporary Issues Reference BF721.C5155 2006
Comparative Psychology: A Handbook. Garland Reference BF671 .C615 1998
Handbook of Emotions, 2nd. ed. Guilford Press Reference BF561 .H35 2000
Handbook of Forensic Psychology : Resource for Mental Health and... Reference RA1148 .H362 2004
Handbook of International Psychology Reference BF121.H2115 2004
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling. Sage Reference BF637 .C6 H3174
Handbook of Personality Disorders :Theory, Research, and Treatme... Reference RC554 .H36 2001
Handbook of Psychology (Forensic Psychology) v.11. John Wiley &... Reference BF121.H1955 2003
Handbook of Social and Clinical Psychology: The Health Perspecti... Reference RC467 .H29 1990
Handbook of Stress, Coping, and Health. Sage Reference QP82.2 .S8 .H357 2000
Oxford companion to emotion and the affective sciences Reference BF531.O94 2009
Social Psychology: Handbook of Basic Principles. Guilford Reference HM251 .S6743
The Handbook of Social Psychology. 2 vols Reference HM1011.H37 2010
The Psychology of Sexual Victimization: A Handbook Greenwood Reference HV6556 .P78 1999

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Psychology:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.


Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Psychology using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 08 February 2011