Research Guide:
Social Issues

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Steps to Researching a Social Issue

  1. To select a topic, do one of the following:
    1. Choose an issue that was brought up in your assigned readings. Look at the list of Suggested Subject Headings in this guide and determine which terms are most closely related to that issue.
    2. Consult the Reference books listed below in #1: For Topic Ideas, and read about a topic that interests you.
    3. Go to the Databases page and select CQ Researcher. Browse by Topic to find an issue that interests you.
    4. Go to the Databases page and select Points of View Reference Center. Browse by Category to find an issue that interests you.
  2. Use a Reference book to get introductory information on your topic. Encyclopedias are organized alphabetically; use the Suggested Subject Headings in this guide to find appropriate terms for your topic. In other Reference books, look in the Index for terms related to your topic.
  3. Select appropriate terms from the list of Suggested Subject Headings in this guide. In the library catalog, search by SUBJECT for these terms. This search will lead you to circulating books and media related to your topic.
  4. Search for articles related to your topic using one of the Research Databases listed in this guide. Scholarly articles can be found in Academic Search Premier, Proquest Research Library, and Wilson OmniFile.
  5. Search for statistics or current news related to your topic using the Internet Resources in this guide. Print or document any websites you visit, so you can cite them appropriately.

Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Social Issues. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Social Issues books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

1. For Topic Ideas

Title Location CallNumber
Encyclopedia of modern American social issues Reference HN57.K73 1997
Great debates at the United Nations: An encyclopedia of fifty ke... Reference KZ4968 .G67 2001
Social issues in science and technology : an encyclopedia Reference Q175.5 .N49 1999
State of the World Reference HC59.S74
Supreme Court Drama : Cases That Changed America Reference KF4550.Z9 B73 2001
World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook Reference JZ1242 .W67 2002

2. Guns, Drugs

Title Location CallNumber
Ecoterrorism Reference GE197.L66 2004
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol, & addictive behavior Reference HV5804.E53 2001
Encyclopedia of gun control and gun rights Reference KF3941.A68 U88 2000
Guns in American society : an encyclopedia of history, politics,... Reference HV7436 .G8783 2002

3. Environmental Issues

Title Location CallNumber
American environmental leaders: from colonial times to the prese... Reference GE55 .B43 2000
Dictionary of environmental law Reference K3584.6 .G55 2000
Encyclopedia of environmental studies Reference TD9 .A84 2001
Encyclopedia of global change: environmental change and human so... Reference GE149 .E47 2002
Environmental law handbook Reference KF3775 .E55 2001
Global warming Reference QC981.8.G56 L66 2004
The facts on file dictionary of environmental science Reference TD9.W95 2007
The global warming desk reference E-Book

4. Ethics, Bioethics, Genetic Engineering

Title Location CallNumber
Animal rights Circulating HV4708.Y84 2004
Animals and the law: a sourcebook Reference KF390.5.A5 C87 2001
Encyclopedia of bioethics Reference QH332 .E52 2004
Encyclopedia of biomaterials and biomedical engineering Reference R857.M3 E63 2004
Encyclopedia of ethical, legal, and policy issues in biotechnolo... Reference TP248.16 .E539 2000
Encyclopedia of ethics Reference BJ63 .E45 2001
The Facts on File dictionary of biotechnology and genetic engine... Reference TP248.16.S84 2001

5. Terrorism, War

Title Location CallNumber
Encyclopedia of modern worldwide extremists and extremist groups Reference HN49.R33 A85 2004
Encyclopedia of terrorism Reference HV6431.K883 2003
Encyclopedia of world terrorism Reference HV6431.E53 2003
Encyclopedia of youth and war: young people as participants and ... Reference HQ784.W3 S54 2000

6. American life, Immigration

Title Location CallNumber
American attitudes : what Americans think about the issues that ... Reference HN90.P8 A527 2005
American generations : who they are, how they live, what they th... Reference HC110.C6 M545 1998
Facts about American immigration Reference JV6465.B73 2001
International migration : trends, policies, and economic impact Circulating JV6217 .I59 2001
The Millennials : Americans under age 25 Reference HQ796 .M55 2001

7. Crime, Criminals, Punishment

Title Location CallNumber
Encyclopedia of capital punishment in the United States Reference HV8694.P35 2001
Encyclopedia of crime and punishment Reference HV6017.E524 2002
Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States criminal justice syste... Reference RA1057.55.P34 2004
Encyclopedia of juvenile justice Reference HV9104 .E58 2003
Encyclopedia of organized crime in the United States Reference HV6446.K43 2000
Encyclopedia of white-collar & corporate crime Reference HV6768.E63 2005
Encyclopedia of women and crime Reference HV6046 .E56 2000
The encyclopedia of American prisons Reference HV9471.S54 2003
The encyclopedia of high-tech crime and crime-fighting Reference HV6773.N48 2004
The encyclopedia of serial killers Reference HV6245 .N49 2000

8. Women, Gender, Sexuality

Title Location CallNumber
Domestic violence and child abuse sourcebook Circulating HV6626.2.D66 2000
Encyclopedia of abortion in the United States Reference HQ767.5.U5 P35 2002
Encyclopedia of birth control Reference HQ766 .R442 2000
Encyclopedia of domestic violence Reference HV6626.E534 2007
Encyclopedia of women's history in America Reference HQ1410.C85 2000
Encyclopedia of women and crime Reference HV6046 .E56 2000
Handbook of American women's history Reference HQ1410 .H36 2000
International encyclopedia of women's suffrage Reference JF851 .H28 2000
Supreme Court decisions and women's rights : milestones to equal... Reference KF4758.A7 S87 2000
The encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS Reference RC606.6 .W385 2003
The encyclopedia of sexually transmitted diseases Reference RC200.1 .S525 2004
The sourcebook on violence against women Reference HV6250.4.W65 S68 2001

9. Statistics

Title Location CallNumber
Datapedia of the United States : American history in numbers Reference HA202.K87 2007
Population statistics Reference HA1107.5.P678
Statistical abstract of the United States Reference HA202.U57
The Gallup poll. Reference HN90.P8G35
The world's women, 2000 : trends and statistics. Reference HQ1154 .W95 2000
The World almanac and book of facts Reference AY67.N5 W7

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Social Issues:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.


Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Social Issues using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 23 November 2010