Research Guide:
U.S. Foreign Policy

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of U.S. Foreign Policy. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the U.S. Foreign Policy books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

Almanacs and Dictionaries

Title Location CallNumber
Dictionary of American Foreign Affairs Reference E183.7.F58 1993
Dictionary of American History Reference E174 .D52 2003
Penguin Dictionary of International Relations Reference JZ1161 .E93 1998
The Almanac of American Politics Reference JK271.B343

Encyclopedias

Title Location CallNumber
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy Reference E183.7.H28 2004
Encyclopedia of American Government Reference JK9.E52 1998
Encyclopedia of American History Reference E174.5.E52
Encyclopedia of American Political History Reference E183.E48 2001
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency Reference JK511.E53 1994
Encyclopedia of the Clinton Presidency Reference E885 .L48 2002
Encyclopedia of the Cold War Reference D843.A668 1994
Encyclopedia of the Reagan-Bush Years Reference JK511.L48 1996
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century Reference E740.7.E53
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a political, social, & military... Reference DS557.7.E53 1998
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations Reference E183.7.E53 1997
Europe since 1945: an encyclopedia Reference D1051.E873 2001
Great Debates at the United Nations: an encyclopedia of fifty ke... Reference KZ4968 .G67 2001
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Political Thought Reference JA61.B57 1987
The Concise Encyclopedia of Democracy Reference JC423.C667 2000
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations Reference G63.W67 2001

Handbooks

Title Location CallNumber
Chronological History of United States Foreign Relations, 1776 t... Reference E183.7.B745 1985
Documents of American Diplomacy: American Revolution – present Reference E183.7.D63 2002
Facts about the American Wars Reference E181.F28 1998
The Cold War, 1945-1991 Reference D839.5 C65 1992
The Longman Companion to Cold War and detente, 1941-1991 Reference D840.Y68 1993
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World Reference JA61.O95 2001
The Oxford Companion to United States history Reference E174.O94 2001
The Oxford Companion to World War II Reference D740.094 1995
The Third World Handbook Reference D883.A76
U.S. Department of State : a Reference history Reference JZ1480.A4 1999

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for U.S. Foreign Policy:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.

Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on U.S. Foreign Policy using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 05 March 2009