Research Guide:
Nursing

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Nursing. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Nursing books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

Dictionaries

Title Location CallNumber
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology Reference QR180.4.C78 2003
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy Reference RC55.M4
Mosby's Medical, Nursing, and Allied Health Dictionary Reference R121.M89 2009
Stedman's Medical Dictionary. 27th ed. Reference R121.S8 2005
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary Reference R121.T18 2005
Williams Obstetrics Reference RG524.W7 2005

Drugs, Diet and Therapy

Title Location CallNumber
American Drug Index Reference RS355.A48 2005
Conn's Current Therapy Reference RM101.C87 2004
Intravenous Medications (17th ed.) Reference RM170.G33 2001
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference Reference RS141.3.M3 2005
Mosby's Nursing Drug Reference Reference RM138.S59 2001
Nursing... Drug Handbook Reference RM301.12.N87
PDR for Herbal Medicines Reference RM666.H33 P37 2004
PDR for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary Supplements Reference RS75.P51
Physician's Desk Reference (PDR) Reference RS75.P5

Encyclopedias

Title Location CallNumber
Encyclopedia of Bioethics (5 volumes) Reference QH332.E52 2004
Encyclopedia of Clinical Toxicology Reference RA1193.R67 2002
Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases Reference RC112.T87 2003
Magill's Medical Guide - Health and Illness (5 Volumes) Reference RC41.M34 2008
Mayo Clinic Family Health Book Reference RC81.M473 2003
Merck Manual of Medical Information: Home Ed. Reference RC81.M535 2003
Mosby's Handbook of Diseases Reference RT65.L37 2005
Physicians' Guide to Rare Diseases Reference RC55.P69
The American Medical Association Family Medical Guide Reference RC81.A543 2004
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (4 volumes) Reference R733.G34 2001
The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer (2 volumes) Reference RC254.5.G353 2002
The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine Reference R121.O884 2001

Nursing Education and Careers

Title Location CallNumber
Exploring Health Care Careers (2 Volumes) Reference R690.E97 2006
Health Professions: Career and Education Directory Reference R847.A1 D57
State Medical Licensure Requirements and Statistics Reference R745.A43 S726

Nursing Review

Title Location CallNumber
Cracking the NCLEX-RN (Princeton Review) Reference RT55.M49 2003
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Practical Nursing for NCLEX-PN Reference RT62.M62 2008

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Nursing:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.


Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Nursing using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 01 May 2008