Research Guide:
Engineering & Technology

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Engineering & Technology. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Engineering & Technology books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

Books

Title Location CallNumber
Chambers dictionary of science and technology Reference Q123.C42 1999
Civil engineering formulas E-Book E-Book
Construction E-Book E-Book
Conversion factors Reference QC94.C67 1991
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics Reference QD65.H236
Desktop encyclopedia of telecommunications Reference TK5102 .M85 2000
Dictionary of architecture & construction Reference NA31.H32 1993
Dictionary of scientific literacy Reference Q123.B68 1991
Encyclopedia of 20th-century technology Reference T9 .E462 2005
Encyclopedia of computers and computer history Reference QA76.15.E53 2001
Encyclopedia of engineering signs and symbols Reference TA11.E5
Encyclopedia of information science and technology Reference Z1006.E566 2005
Encyclopedia of military technology and innovation Reference U24.B85 2004
Great engineers and pioneers in technology Reference TA139 .G7 1981
Handbook of applied mathematics for engineers/scientists Reference TA332 .K87 1991
How to write & publish a scientific paper Reference T11 .D33 1998
Magill's survey of science. Applied science series Reference TA145 .M298
McGraw-Hill dictionary of scientific and technical terms Reference Q123.M15 2003
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of engineering Reference TA9.M36
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology Reference Q121.M3
Milestones in computer science and information technology Reference QA76.R434 2003
Oxford illustrated encyclopedia of invention & technology Reference T9 .O94 1992
The Beaulieu encyclopedia of the automobile Reference TL9.B43 2000
The Civil engineering handbook Reference TA151.C57 1995
The engineering handbook Reference TA151.E424
The Wiley engineer's desk reference Reference TA151.H424 1998
Troubleshooting, maintaining & repairing PCs Reference TK7887 .B5528 2001
Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia Reference Q121.V269 2002

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Engineering & Technology:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.


Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Engineering & Technology using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 24 January 2008