Marketing & Advertising
Choosing a topic
When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:
- Unless your instructor assigns a topic, try to select a topic that interests you.
- Make sure your topic is not too broad, or too narrow. You will find too much information when searching for a broad topic; and not enough information when searching for a narrow topic.
- If you already have a general topic, try searching the library's catalog or the library's databases for ideas on how to narrow that topic down.
- Visit the library's Reference Desk and request to view the following book: 10,000 ideas for term papers, projects, reports and speeches: Intriguing, original research topics for every student's need.
- For current events and issues in the news, try searching the library's database: CQ Researcher.
- For debatable or controversial issues, ask one of the librarians about the Opposing Viewpoints Series, the Taking Sides Series, Issues in Focus Series and/or the Current Controversies Series.
- Visit the Social Issues Research Guide. There you will find a list of current social issues to choose from.
Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Marketing & Advertising. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Marketing & Advertising books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.
To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.
|Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising||Reference||HF 5415. R577 1995|
|Dictionary of Marketing Terms||Reference||HF 5415.D4874 1995|
|Market share reporter.||Reference||HF1040.9.G2|
|The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising||Reference||HF 5803 .A38 2003|
|The International Dictionary of Marketing||Reference||HF 5415.Y32 2002|
Handbooks and Guides
|Career Opportunities in Advertising and Public Relations||Reference||HF 5828.4 .F54 2002|
|Fundamentals of Selling: customers for life through service||Reference||HF 5438.25 .F87 2004|
The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.
- Start with a Keyword search. Once you find one or two books about your topic, check the book's record to see what Subjects are being used. Once you find the appropriate Subject Heading, repeat your search using those headings. Generally, the results from a Subject search will always be more accurate than the results from a Keyword search.
- If you know the title of the book you are looking for, do a Title search.
- If you are looking for a book with a specific author, do an Author search (last name first).
Suggested Subject Headings for Marketing & Advertising:
Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.
- Communication in marketing
- Direct marketing
- Internet marketing
- Market segmentation
- Marketing - - Case studies
- Marketing - - Decision making
- Marketing - - Management
- Marketing - - Planning
- Marketing - - Psychological aspects
- Marketing - - Social aspects
- Marketing - - United States
- Marketing - - Vocational guidance
- Marketing research
Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.
Browse the Collection:
Most of the books can be found in the following areas:
- HF5410-5417.5 -- Marketing. Distribution of products
- HF5801-6182 -- Advertising
All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.
For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
Research Databases - Finding Articles
The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.
Search for periodical articles on Marketing & Advertising using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)
- ABI/Inform Complete
"Search 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing,economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also, information on 60,000+ companies." Drawn from the vendor's website.
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. Users can either browse or conduct specific searches of over 500,000 digital images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual and material culture.
- Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. It is updated daily.
- Jersey Cat
This web site makes it possible to do a wide ranging search of multiple academic and public library catalogs. It may also provide access to the catalog of your local library.
After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.
- American Advertising Federation
- American Marketing Association
- Business Marketing Association
- Business Marketing Association – New Jersey Chapter
- World Association of Internet Marketers
- Ad Council
Source: Ad Council -- The Ad Council is a non-profit that collaborates with advertising and communications industries, the media, businesses, and the non-profit community to produce public service advertising for the American audience. Their website has a searchable archive of past and present Ad Council campaigns, dating back to the first campaign in 1942.
Source: John W. Harman Center for Sales, Advertising and Marketing History, Duke University -- "The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
An archive of classic print ads from every decade from the 1940's to the present. Search by decade, topic or keyword.
- Ads of the World
Source: Jupitermedia Corporation -- A digital archive of ads from around the world. The websites browse feature allows you to search for ads by region, country, media, industry, agency and brand.
- Advertising Guidance
Source: U.S. Federal Trade Commission -- Full-text documents of advertising regulations and guidelines published by the FTC. Includes information on using environmental claims, guidelines for specific industries, and statements on deceptive and bait advertising.
- Advertising World
Source: Texas Advertising and Public Relations -- A comprehensive site of advertising related links. Links are organized in “The Ultimate Marketing Communications Directory.” Use the Resources link on the main menu to access links for Law and Ethics, Advertising Quotations, Terminology and more.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Source: John W. Harman Center for Sales, Advertising and Marketing History, Duke University -- A unique collection of advertising history drawn from over a dozen collections from the Hartman Center and Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library of Duke Univesity.
- FTC Advertising Guidelines
Source: Arent Fox Kintner Plotkin & Kahn, PLLC- Attorneys at Law -- Located here are full texts of Advertising Guidelines and Enforcement Policy statements issued by the United States Federal Trade Commission.Guides and policy statements for a wide variety of advertising practices are included.
- FTC Trade Regulation Rules
Source: Arent Fox Kintner Plotkin & Kahn, PLLC- Attorneys at Law -- This site contains full texts of many trade regulation rules issued and enformced by the US Trade Commission.
- KnowThis: Marketing Virtual Library
Source: KnowThis, LLC -- A collection of current online news articles related to many aspects of marketing and advertising. Links are grouped into more than 140 topic areas for browsing.
Source: American Marketing Association -- Topics include information on advertising, direct marketing, business to business marketing, consumer marketing, Internet marketing and marketing research.
- Call or visit the Reference Desk to speak to one of the librarians. The Reference Desk is located on the main floor of the library. The phone number is 908-526-1200 x8350.
- Email your question to one of the librarians using the Ask-A-Librarian Service.
- For further information about this guide, please contact Megan Dempsey
Last Updated - 09 January 2009