Research Guide:
Demographics

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of Demographics. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the Demographics books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

By Age

Title Location CallNumber
American Generations: Who They Are, How They Live, What They Thi... Reference HC110.C6M545 1998
Atlas of the Baby Boom Generation Reference E741.A88 2000
The Baby Boom: Americans Born 1946 to 1964 Reference HF5415.33.U6 R877 2004
The Millennials: Americans Under Age 25 Reference HQ796.M55 2001

Income and Economic Data

Title Location CallNumber
American Salaries and Wages Survey Reference HD4973.A67
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns Reference HA214.A6

International

Title Location CallNumber
Demographic Yearbook. Annuaire Demographique Reference HA17.D45
OECD Factbook: Economic, Environmental and Social Statistics Reference HC10.O34
Population Statistics Reference HA1107.5.P678
World Development Report, 2005; World Development Indicators Reference HC59.7.W659
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies Reference HC15.W67 2002

Regional

Title Location CallNumber
County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City, and County Data Book Reference HA203.C68
State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State Reference HA203.S734 2006
State Rankings 2001: A Statistical View of the Fifty United Stat... Reference HA203.U17

Social, Ethnic and Cultural Demographyies

Title Location CallNumber
American Cost of Living Survey Reference HD6983.A67
American Immigrant Cultures Reference E184.A1A63448 1997
Atlas of American Migration Reference G1201. E27F5 1998
Hispanic-American Almanac Reference E184.S75 H557 1993
St. James Press Gay and Lesbian Almanac Reference HQ76.3.U5 S75 1998
The Asian American Almanac Reference E184.O6 A824
The Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America Reference E184.A1 G14

United States

Title Location CallNumber
A Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions a... Reference HA214.S73 2002
American Attitudes: What Americans Think About the Issues that S... Reference HN90.P8 A527 2005
Business Statistics of the United States Reference HC101.A13122
Datapedia of the United States: American History in Numbers Reference HA202.K87 2004
Demographics of the U.S. Reference HB849.49.R875 2000
Demographics: a guide to methods and data sources for media, bus... Reference HB849.4.D447 2006
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census Reference HA37.U55 E53 2000
MSA Profile Reference HC106.8.M47
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide Reference G1019.R22
Statistical Abstract of the United States Reference HA202.U57
The Who, What, and Where of America: Understanding the Census Re... Reference HA201.122.W48 2003
Vital Statistics of the United States. Births, Life Expectancy, ... Reference HA203.V587
World Almanac and Book of Facts Reference AY67.N5W7

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for Demographics:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.

Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on Demographics using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 22 September 2008