Research Guide:
American History

 

Choosing a topic

When choosing a topic for your research paper, think about the following:


Book Collections

Books will provide an excellent starting point for your research in the field of American History. Reference books often give you background information and a general overview on your topic so that you can proceed with greater understanding to a more detailed treatment of your subject in other books and periodicals. Reference books may include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, atlases and/or statistical reports. The librarian at the Reference Desk can help in locating an appropriate source. Listed below are the titles and call numbers of some of the American History books in the library's reference collection. The reference collection is located on the main level of the library. Books with a location of Reference cannot be checked out of the library. The Circulating Collection is on the second floor of the library. Books with a location of Circulating may be checked out.

To search the Catalog for a book, click on it's callnumber below.

Books

Title Location CallNumber
Almanac of American History Reference E178 .M667 2006
American Heritage Encyclopedia of American History Reference E174 .A535 1998
American National Biography Reference CT213 .A68 1999
American Revolution: An Encyclopedia Reference E208 .A433
Archaeology in America Reference E159.5 .A68 2009
Companion to American Thought Reference E169.1 .C685
Dictionary of American Biography Reference E176 .D563
Dictionary of American History. 3rd. ed. Reference E174 .D52 2003
Documents of American History Reference E173 .C66 1973
Encyclopedia of African American History Reference E185 .E5453 2009
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy Reference E183.7 .H28 2004
Encyclopedia of American History Reference E174.5 .E52
Encyclopedia of American Political History Reference E183 .E48 2001
Encyclopedia of American Social History Reference HN57 .E58
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture Reference E169.12 .E49 2001
Encyclopedia of Multicultural America Reference E184 .A1 G14
Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes Reference E76.2 .W35 1988
Encyclopedia of New Jersey Reference F132.E52 2004
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy Reference E487 .E55 1993
Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies Reference E45 .E53
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century Reference E740.7 .E53
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations Reference E183.7 .E53 1997
Historic Documents Reference E839.5 .H57
Historical Atlas of the United States Atlas G1201 .S1 H4 2007
Historical Dictionary of the American Revolution Reference E209 .M36 2010
Mapping New Jersey Atlas G1255 .S5 2009
Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture & Peoples Reference E77 .P89 1998
New Encyclopedia of American Scandal Reference E179 .N53 2001
Notable American Women Reference CT3260 .N57
Reader's Guide to American History Reference E178 .P27 R42 1997
Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian Reference E76.2 .R4 2009
Reference Library of Black America Reference E185 .R435
Term Paper Resource Guide to Twentieth Century United States His... Reference E741 .M83 1999

Library Catalog

The library catalog is used to locate books both at RVCC, as well as from other libraries in the Somerset County Library System. Books will provide in-depth information not found in reference sources.

Quick Tips:

Suggested Subject Headings for American History:

Click a subject heading below to use it as the search term for a Subject Search in the catalog.


Consult with the reference librarian to find the term best suited to your needs.

Browse the Collection:

Most of the books can be found in the following areas:

All of the library's circulating books are located on the upper level of the library.

For additional library catalogs, including libraries in Hunterdon and Middlesex counties, consult the Additional Library Catalogs page. If you find a book in one of these catalogs that the library does not own, request the book using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.


Research Databases - Finding Articles

The Evelyn S. Field Library has access to thousands of periodicals. (Periodicals can be magazines, scholarly journals, or newspapers.) Some periodicals are in the library's print (or hard copy) collection. However, the majority of periodicals are available in the Research Databases. These databases provide access to articles. This information is generally more current than material found in books.

Search for periodical articles on American History using the databases listed below. They can be accessed from the Library Database Page. (If you are using these databases from an off-campus location, you will be asked to identify yourself by logging in with your Username and Password. This is the same login you use on campus. The Research Databases are available only to registered RVCC students.)

After finding an article on your research topic, the database will either provide a citation and summary of the article, or it will provide the full-text (the complete article). If you are only given a citation and summary of the article, you can check the Periodical Locator to determine if the periodical you are looking for is available in another database. (The Periodical Locator is an alphabetical list of all the journals the library has access to. Feel free to talk with a librarian for assistance.) If the article is not available in any of the library's research databases, request the article using the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

If, for your assignment, you are required to have sources from scholarly journals, use the Identifying Scholarly Articles guide to help you determine if your source is a magazine article or a scholarly article.


Professional Organizations


Internet Resources


Additional Help

Last Updated - 05 November 2010