Databases

Listed by Title

Listed by Subject

Off Campus- You will be required to input your College ID# (ex. G00012345) and password, for more information see our FAQ

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Database Title and Details Description

ABI/Inform Global

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Business, Economics
Full Text: Yes
Note: Available through ProQuest

"Search 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing,economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also, information on 60,000+ companies." Drawn from the vendor's website.

Academic Search Premier

Type: Article Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes
Note: Available through EBSCOHost

Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full text journals, Academic Search Premier offers critical information from many sources. This resource contains full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications. Academic Search Premier includes full-page images as well as color embedded images.

ACM Digital Library

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Computer Science
Full Text: Yes

The ACM Digital Library holds the publications of The Association of Computing Machinery, including journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, newsletters, Special Interest Groups (SIGs) and ACM oral history interviews.

Access Science

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics
Full Text: Yes

The core of this database is a continually updated online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. It is a good place to start a science research project. The browse function should help if you are having trouble deciding on a topic. It also includes a science dictionary.

ArtStor

Type: Image Database
Subject: Art
Full Text: N/A

ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. Users can either browse or conduct specific searches of over 500,000 digital images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual and material culture.

Automate Your Business Plan

Type: Compact Disc
Subjects: Business
Full Text: N/A

This CD is based on the award winning book, Anatomy of a Business Plan. It presents the business plan structure suggested by the book in a computer-accessible format. Written with special appeal to the beginner. Includes three sample plans drawn from real life.

Backstage

Please contact your instructor for the login information.

Biographies Plus Illustrated

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: Biography
Full Text: Yes
Note: Available through Wilson Web

"Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations from H. W. Wilson databases. Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated contains the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books published by H. W. Wilson, including all the articles from all volumes of Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and numerous biographical books on musicians and composers from throughout history." Drawn from the vendor's website.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive

Type:
Subject:
Full-Text:

Database not currently available due to lack of state funding. We recommend Biomedical Reference Collection: Expanded.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Expanded

Type:
Subject:
Full-Text:

Designed for doctors, research scientists, students and clinical specialists, this database provides more than 200 full text journals. Covering virtually all areas of medical study, all full text journals included the Biomedical Reference Collection: Expanded Edition are also indexed in MEDLINE.

Book Review Index Plus

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Literature
Full Text: Over 700,000 full-text articles. The rest is citations.

Book Review Index Plus indexes more than 5.2 million reviews from more than 5,800 journals and general interest publications.

Books in Print

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: Literature
Full Text: Yes

Books in Print is a database of over 5 million book, audio book, and video/DVD titles and more than 200.000 publishers. Many records include reviews from publications such as Choice, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and Booklist.

Britannica Online

Type: Online Encyclopedia
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes

Britannica Online contains the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Like any general encyclopedia, it is a good place to begin research and understand the basic facts of your topic. The "World" link provides a particularly valuable collection of maps, linked to geographical data in the encyclopedia. There is also a dictionary available at the same site. "The Encyclopedia Britannica database includes more than 72,000 encyclopedia articles and year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks. Most articles are brief or of moderate length and discuss people, places, institutions, things, or concepts. Longer articles are divided into separate sections for easier access and more accurate searching." Drawn from the vendor's website.

Business Plan Pro

Type: Compact Disc
Subjects: Business
Full Text: N/A

Using techniques very similar to a paper based workbook, Business Plan Pro will guide you through writing a business plan.

Business Source Premier

Type: Article Database
Subject: Business, Economics
Full Text: Yes

Database not currently available due to lack of state funding. We recommend ABI/Inform.

Communication & Mass Media

Type: Article Database
Subject: Communications and Media
Full-Text: Yes

CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 390 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of 200 more, for a combined coverage of nearly 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 285 journals.

Contemporary Authors

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: Literature
Full Text: Yes

"Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors." Drawn from the vendor's website.

CQ Researcher

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: Social Sciences, Political Science, Medicine, Education, Sciences
Full Text: Yes

The CQ Researcher explores a single issue in depth each week. The issues are chosen based on current news. This database is easy to check. If there is a relevant report, it's a great way to jump start your research. There are 44 reports each year including four expanded reports. Every 12,000-word report features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro/con feature, a chronology, bibliographies and a list of contacts.

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Criminal Justice
Full Text: Some, 50 of 140 titles
Note: Available through ProQuest

"CJPI can provide information on virtually any criminal justice topic, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law."Drawn from the vendor's website.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures

Type: Compact Disc
Subjects: Anthropology
Full Text: Yes

"The Encyclopedia of World Cultures lists and describes more than 1,500 cultural groups across the globe. It is a source of interdisciplinary research, cross-cultural, historical, social, political, economical, and religious information on virtually all cultures existing in this century. Cultural summaries offer descriptions prepared by more than 1,000 contributors who have first-hand research knowledge of the cultural group presented."

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Education
Full Text: ERIC reports in full text available from 1993. Citations for education journals and ERIC reports available from 1966.
Note: Available through EBSCOHost

ERIC is a nationwide information network sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education designed to provide ready access to education literature. The ERIC database is the world's largest index to journal articles and documents in education, containing over 1,000,000 citations. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database (or 430,000 citations) relate to education documents. Identified by unique ED numbers, ERIC documents include a wide variety of resources such as teaching guides, research reports, bibliographies, issue papers, instructional materials, and test and evaluation instruments. ERIC also contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals and full text of more than 2,200 Eric Digests.

Facts on File

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: Education, History, Geography, Business
Full Text: Yes

Provides general information on academic and career-related collections. This is an excellent source of graphics and encyclopedia length articles on general topics. Because it does not have a single interface, however, finding information may take some digging.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Type:
Subject:
Full-Text:

This database is the online equivalent of the 4-volume Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance published by Ferguson. It contains detailed information on more than 2,000 jobs in 93 industries.

GreenFILE

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Environmental Science
Full Text: No

GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

Health and Wellness Resources Center

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Medicine
Full Text:Yes

Health & Wellness Resource Center (version 1.1) is a comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information through an intuitive web interface. Including the respected Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Additionally, consumers, students, and professionals are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness. Drawn from the vendor's website.

Note: As with all health information sources, this database is for informational purposes only.

Health Reference Center

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: Medicine
Full Text: Yes, with the exception of older articles.
Note: Available through the Gale Group

Articles from a variety of health periodicals, plus excerpts from health-related reference books. Material includes a medical dictionary; medical directories and reference books; consumer-oriented and professional health periodicals; and pamphlets issued by leading health organizations. The periodical material is augmented by specially selected health articles from general-interest, business and specialty publications.

Hoover's Company Records

Type:
Subjects:
Full-Text:
Source: ABI/INFORM Global

Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

Informe!

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Spanish Interface Databases
Full Text: Yes
Note: Available through the Gale Group

Infotrac's informe is the first electronic database in Spanish. Specifically designed to meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users-allowing researchers to think about a topic and conduct searches in Spanish. Fifty Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals-including popular titles such as Actual, Latin and Siempre. Full text of the El Nuevo Herald (Miami, Fl.) Spanish-language newspaper.

Jersey Cat

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: Reference
Full Text: No

This web site makes it possible to do a wide ranging search of multiple academic and public library catalogs. It may also provide access to the catalog of your local library.

JSTOR

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Anthropology, Business, Education, Science, History, Humanities, Literature, Mathematics, Political Science, Science, Social Sciences
Full Text: Yes

A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. JSTOR is important if you are doing a research project that needs older information in the arts and sciences. Due to its very nature as a retrospective journal archive, JSTOR does not contain current journal articles. The JSTOR database is unique because the complete back files of core scholarly journals have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. Over 4 million pages are available.

LexisNexis (Paralegal Program)

Type: ParaLegal Database
Subjects: Criminal Justice
Full Text: Yes

LexisNexis is a comprehensive tool for legal research. It presents many of the standard legal research tools in a web-based interface. Please note that access is restricted. Most general research needs can be met by LexisNexis Academic Universe.

LexisNexis Academic Universe Knowledge Base

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Biography, Business, Criminal Justice, Medicine, Reference
Full Text:Yes

LEXIS-NEXIS® Academic Universe provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including news from over 18,000 newspapers, magazines and news wires and company financial information. .

Literature Online (LION)

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Literature
Full Text: Yes

With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.

Literature Resource Center

Type: Online Database
Subjects: Literature
Full Text: Yes

"The Literature Resource Center on GaleNet is a complete literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, the Literature Resource Center is the premier Internet resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more."

Magill's Medical Guide

Type: Electronic Copy
Subjects: Medical
Full Text: Yes

This is the online version of Magill's Medical Guide which provides access to over 1,000 entries describing major diseases and disorders of the human body, the basics of human anatomy and physiology, specializations in medical practice, and common surgical and nonsurgical procedures. Print version is available in the Reference Section: RC41.M34.

Masterplots Complete 2000

Type: Compact Disc
Subjects: Literature
Full Text: Yes

This CD includes the contents of 21 sets of reference books published by Salem Press as part of the Masterplots line. There are critical essays listed by title, character profiles and author biographies. Can be searched by title, author, text, locale, genre, subject and principal characters. Published by Salem Press, Inc.

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes

Part of the subscription to Encyclopedia Britannica Online.

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes

Part of the subscription to Encyclopedia Britannica Online.

Monarch Notes

Type: Compact Disc
Subjects: Literature
Full Text: Yes

Analysis of selected literary works

National Newspapers

Type: Newspaper Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes
Note: Available through ProQuest

Coverage of 10 major US newspapers: The Atlanta Journal - Constitution (1990-Current), Boston Globe (1980-Current), Chicago Tribune (1985-Current), The Christian Science Monitor (1988-Current), Los Angeles Times (1985-Current), New York Times (1980-Current), Seattle Post - Intelligencer (1990-Current), USA Today (1987-Current), Wall Street Journal (1985-Current), The Washington Post (1987-Current)

Nature Journals

Type:
Subjects
Full Text:

 

NetLibrary

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes

This is a collection of more than 4000 e-books. The collection may be accessed through the library catalog. When viewing an eBook in the online reader, besides being able to navigate through the content page by page, the reader has the ability to navigate using the Table of Contents or to search the full text of the eBook.

New Jersey Knowledge Initiative

Type: Online Database Collection
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary

The Knowledge Initiative (KI) provides New Jersey’s entrepreneurs, small business owners, researchers and students with access to information resources for the 21st Century through statewide web access to high-end Science, Technology, Medical and Business Databases. NJKI is made possible by Governor of New Jersey Jon S. Corzine and the New Jersey State Legislature and supported by: NJ Library Association, NJ VALE, Central Jersey Library Cooperative, South Jersey Library Cooperative, Highlands Library Cooperative, and INFOLINK.

New York Times (Proquest)

Type: Newspaper Database
Subject: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes

New York Times is part of the Proquest Newspapers database. It includes the complete text of NYT from 1980 - current.

Newspaper Database

Type: Newspaper Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text:Yes
Note: Available through the Gale Group

Current events and other topics included in newspapers. Includes New York Times (1 year), The Newark Star Ledger (from 2/01), The Record (from 1/96), The Los Angeles Times (from 1/96) and The Times of London (from 1997)

Oxford English Dictionary

Type: Reference Database
Subject:
Full Text:

OED online is the equivalent of the 20-volume Oxford English Dictionary in print. The dictionary provides meaning, history and pronunciation to over half a million words from across the English-speaking world. It is updated quarterly with at least 2,500 new and revised entries.

Patron Books in Print

Type:
Subject:
Full Text:

 

Points of View Reference Center

Type: Article Database
Subject: Current Issues
Full Text: Yes
Note: Available through EBSCOHost

Provides a balanced series of articles representing multiple viewpoints to help understand the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. The database offers an overiew of an issue and it's points and counterpoints, as well as a guide to Critical Analysis.

Proquest Newspapers

Type: Newspaper Database
Subject: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes

Proquest Newspapers includes the full text of The Atlantic Journal - Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post.

Proquest Research Library

Type: Article Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes
Note: Available through ProQuest

Proquest Research Library is a large multi-disciplinary database, with an effective search engine.

PsycArticles

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Psychology
Full Text: Yes

PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 55 journals - published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and from allied organizations. Here is a list of the journals.

PubMed

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Medicine
Full Text: No, though there is now a separate database off the same site that offers full text.

PubMed provides access to Medline, The National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database. It is also a gateway, providing access to other sources of medical information from the federal government.

Note: As with all health information sources, this database is for informational purposes only

ReferenceUSA

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: Business
Full Text: Yes

Database not currently available due to lack of state funding. We recommend Hoover's Company Records.

RVCC Catalog

Type: Book Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: No, except the e-book collection

The catalog describes and gives call numbers for the books and media owned by the library. Because this is a shared system, the catalog also reflects the books and other materials that are held by the libraries in the Somerset County Library System.

Safari Books Online

Type: Electronic Books
Subject: Computer Science
Full-Text: Yes
Provider: Proquest

Safari Books Online is a collection of over 5,200 electronic books in the field of computer science. Publishers include O’Reilly, Addison-Wesley, Sams, Que, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall, John Wiley & Sons and many more.

SocINDEX

Type: Article Database
Subject: Sociology
Full-Text: Yes

SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs, and full text for 6,743 conference papers.

ScienceDirect

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Computer Science, Economics, Mathematics, Medicine, Psychology, Sciences
Full Text: Yes

Our current subscription includes the "Social & Behavioral Sciences" and the "Health & Life Sciences." Here is the list of the journals.

Be sure to select "group-wide login.

Star-Ledger/Trenton TImes

Type: Newspaper Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary, New Jersey Newspapers
Full Text:Yes

This is a web based archive for The Star Ledger, The Times of Trenton and The Jersey Journal.

Stat-USA

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: Economics, Business
Full Text: Yes

Stat-USA delivers vital economic, business, and international trade information produced by the U.S. Government. Links to federal and state export/ import resources.

Wall Street Journal (Proquest)

Type: Newspaper Database
Subject: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes

Wall Street Journal is part of the Proquest Newspapers database. It includes the complete text of WSJ from 1984 - current.

Wiley InterScience Journals (NJKI)

Type:
Subject:
Full Text:

 

Wilson OmniFile

Type: Article Database
Subjects: Business, Education, General/Multi Disciplinary, Science, Humanities, and Social Sciences
Full Text: From 1994 for selected publications.
Note: Available through Wilson Web

Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text of articles from some 1,800 publications and abstracts and indexing from over 3,700 publications - all from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text. In addition, Wilson Omnifile presents full text titles indexed in these specialized databases: Art Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text and Biological & Agricultural Index Plus

World Atlas (Britannica)

Type: Reference Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: Yes

The World Atlas is part of the Britannica Online subscription. It provides political and physical maps. It includes brief information about each country, such as population, size in sq miles and sq km, head of state and more.

WorldCat

Type: Online Database
Subjects: General/Multi Disciplinary
Full Text: No
Note: Available through OCLC

A catalog of over 61 million bibliographic records for materials held in libraries worldwide.


Lost? Search Our Site: