Ask us!

Psychosocial Occupational Therapy - OTAH221

Journals

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Most scholarly articles contain many of the same elements, but not all that are listed below. They follow a certain format which crosses most academic disciplines.

Title
Abstract
Authors including corresponding author
Keywords
Introduction
Literature Review
Methods
Results
Discussion
Conclusion
Author(s) bio
References

Deconstructing a journal article

We'll be working on this online tutorial in teams.

OT Journals in the Library

American Journal of Occupational Therapy
Brazilian Journal of Occupational Therapy
British Journal of Occupational Therapy
Cadernos de Terapia Ocupacional da UFSCar
Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy
Communique
Hong Kong Journal of Occupational Therapy
Indian Journal of Physiotherapy and Occupational Therapy
Irish Journal of Occupational Therapy
Kinesiology
Mental Health Occupational Therapy

New Zealand Journal of Occupational Therapy
Occupational Therapy in Orthopaedics and Trauma
Occupational Therapy International
Occupational Therapy Now (OT Now)
Open Journal of Occupational Therapy
OTJR: Occupation, Participation, & Health
Physical & Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics
Scandinavian Journal of Occupational Therapy
South African Journal of Occupational Therapy
WFOT Bulletin

Find Journals and Other Periodicals through the Library

Search Full Text Finder to determine if the library has a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper in a database or in print.

Or browse Full Text Finder by discipline (subject area).

Databases for Occupational Therapy Research

"Best Bets"

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database that provides access to many of the top nursing and allied health literature available.
It contains nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association with many full-text articles. It also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters covering topics including nursing, biomedicine, and consumer health.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This Gale health database provides articles from over 1,000 scholarly journals with a focus on nursing and allied health.
There is full-text coverage for articles cited in CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Articles in this database cover topics related to treatment and management of patients for multiple conditions, different nursing applications for all levels of nursing in all specialties and specialized care. This database is excellent for students in the nursing program but can also be a good resource for students in the medical assistant, pre-med, occupational therapy, psychosocial rehabilitation or ophthalmology programs.
Nursing and Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database focuses on meeting the needs of those preparing for a career in healthcare, teaching patient care, or engaged in nursing research.
It provides access to scholarly journals, clinical training videos, books, conference papers and proceedings, figures, magazines, reports, tables, trade journals, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews of which some are full-text but some have citation and abstract information only.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This Elsevier database provides mostly full-text access to over 14 million scientific, technical and health publications from over 3,800 journals and more than 35,000 books.
Some articles have citation and abstract information only. This is a good source for scholarly articles in nursing, psychology and the sciences.

View all 19 databases which are appropriate for occupational therapy research.