Ask us!
Organizational & Technical Communication - COMM115 - Final Project
Developing Keywords
Finding the right words to search for your topic is a vital part of using the library databases to do research. Rather than typing your full research question or thesis into the library databases, pull out the most important terms, or keywords.
- Example: What are solutions to the problem of breaches in cybersecurity?
- Try keywords like cybersecurity, breach, and solution
For your Organizational Communication class, the keywords you use will be specific to this field, and may be more technical than terms you used when doing research for other classes. Look for words in your textbook or on the assignment instructions for your final project!
Brainstorm synonyms for your terms, so if your search does not turn up the results you are hoping for, you can try a different word or phrase.
- Example: cybersecurity, "computer security," "information technology security"
- Example: breach, violation, leak, hacking
Search techniques
- If you are looking for examples from a specific company, make sure that you enclose it in quotation marks if it is more than one word: "General Motors."
- The same is true for any other phrase you use that has more than one word (like "business etiquette" or "intercultural communication.")
- To combine the name of a company with the issue being studied, use the word AND. This will force the database to only find you articles that mention both or all of your terms: "General Motors" AND automation.
- Use AND to combine multiple words or phrases to make your search more specific.
Google Search Techniques
Use site: to target specific websites or domains. Do not type a space after site: but do type a space before your search term.
- Example - site:.gov COVID-19
- Example - site:nba.com vaccine
Finding articles in Library Databases
Most databases that will be helpful for this assignment can be found in our Business database list.
Look for a "permalink" or "get link" button on the article page, or take the URL from inside the citation (also available in the database). DO NOT take the URL from the browser bar; it will expire after your session.
- RVOneSearch This link opens in a new windowRVOneSearch provides access to most of the information contained in many of the library's databases plus the RVCC library catalog.
- Business Collection This link opens in a new windowA Gale database that provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowAn EBSCO database providing access to scholarly business, management, economics, and supply chain journals, many with full-text access.
Business Source Elite also contains a Thesaurus in the upper menu that can help you find synonyms, broader terms, or narrower terms.
- ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new windowA Proquest database with full-text business journals, magazines and trade publications. A good source of market and industry information, as well as supply chain journals, the database includes Business Monitor International and Dunn and Bradstreet reports.
ABI/INFORM also contains a Thesaurus in the middle menu that can help you find synonyms, broader terms, or narrower terms.
- New York Times Digital This link opens in a new windowAccess the New York Times online for 24/7 individual mobile access to nytimes.com, including the historical archives back to 1851. Individual accounts are available for all faculty, students, and staff at Raritan Valley Community College.