Ask us!

Nursing Resources

This guide will help you understand the types of resources available to the greater Nursing community provided by the RVCC Library.

RVCC Nursing Students

Databases

Are you looking for resources? Scholarly articles? Evidence-based nursing interventions? Theoretical framework articles? Please consult our list of nursing databases:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
It contains nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association with many full-text articles. It also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters covering topics including nursing, biomedicine, and consumer health.
Nursing and Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
It provides access to scholarly journals, clinical training videos, books, conference papers and proceedings, figures, magazines, reports, tables, trade journals, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews of which some are full-text but some have citation and abstract information only.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
There is full-text coverage for articles cited in CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Articles in this database cover topics related to treatment and management of patients for multiple conditions, different nursing applications for all levels of nursing in all specialties and specialized care. This database is excellent for students in the nursing program but can also be a good resource for students in the medical assistant, pre-med, occupational therapy, psychosocial rehabilitation or ophthalmology programs.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
It contains content in all forms of media including core scholarly journals, medical reference ebooks, instructional videos, dissertations, and working papers. The journals included cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, and surgery. A good source for students in nursing, ophthalmic and health sciences or pursuing a health science certification.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Videos

The RVCC Library maintains a subscription to Nursing Education in Video (Previously known as Medcom Trainex (t3))

More than 250 online videos providing high-quality nursing instruction. Topics include anatomy and physiology, basic clinical skills, wound care, safety, nursing assistant skills, legal aspects of nursing, and more!

Nursing Education in Video (previously Medcom) This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of videos from the Academic Video Online Nursing Education in Video Collection which are produced by Medcom. This is a collection of streaming videos for basic medical knowledge and training videos for medical skills and nursing skills and techniques.
Videos cover anatomy and physiology, medical procedures, administrative policies such as HIPAA and basic care and clinical skills, such as administering medication, wound care, and measuring vital signs. Additional topics are pertinent to general nursing, pediatric nursing, obstetrical nursing, and nursing assistants as well as phlebotomy and geriatrics.

Journals / Periodicals

The library subscribes to a rich collection of journals and periodicals from the nursing literature. These consist of both scholarly and popular publications. Some of the highlights of our collection include (you will need your G# and password to access these titles):


AJN: American Journal of Nursing	Nursing
Nurse Educator	Journal of Psychiatric Nursing
Journal of School Nursing	Journal of Pediatric Nursing
American Nurse Today	Applied Nursing Research

And many, many more! To see the full list, view our periodicals and journals finder (you will need your G# and password to access this list).

Books

The library maintains textbooks, reference books, and a circulating book collection for nursing.

Find your textbooks in our reserves list.
Search for books in the library.