Supply Chain Management - BUSI 114 - Rimple

Updated Spring 2020

The company website will be a good starting point for general information. Look for links or terms like the following:

Hoover's Company Records This link opens in a new window
For company profiles.
These three resources provide information on global public and non-public companies including location, summary financials, competitors, officers, significant economic and political developments and market research overviews with mostly full-text access. Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, the Business Market Research Collection provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available. Be advised that the search feature on the ProQuest Business Market Research Collection home page defaults to Hoover’s Company Profiles only.

CAPS Research
Website: http://www.capsresearch.org/Research/Research.aspx

Publishes SCM research studies including: Benchmarking Reports, Critical Issues Reports, Focus Studies, and Practix (cases). Requires free registration to access the reports.
Freight Data and Statistics (U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics)
Website: http://www.rita.dot.gov/bts/sites/rita.dot.gov.bts/files/subject_areas/freight_transportation/index.html

Points to freight statistics, reports, and resources from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics and links out to resources from other agencies.
Institute for Supply Management
Website: http://www.ism.ws/ISMReport/?navItemNumber=4892

Issues the monthly ISM Report on Business which gathers data on new orders and backlogs, production, employment, deliveries, and inventories. Also puts out the JP Morgan Global PMI Report which tracks the PMI (Purchasing Manager Index).
Manufacturing & Trade Inventories & Sales Reports (U.S. Census Bureau)
Website: http://www.census.gov/mtis/

Publishes data monthly on manufacturing, retail, and wholesale inventories and sales.

Kompass
Open Access Directory Website: http://us.kompass.com/b/business-directory/

Provides a worldwide directory of business and commercial companies in 60 countries with information on their products and services for businesses seeking suppliers or import/export sources.
ThomasNet
Open Access Website

Covers industrial manufacturers, distributors, and service companies in the U.S. and Canada. Offers more depth of coverage for this geographic area than the global directories.